We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food long wait time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Barrie

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Barrie
Reserve with OpenTable
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Barrie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 499 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $23
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food long wait time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The no reservation policy is horrible as we waiting over an hour for a table. I will say the food was amazing but the wait times horrendous

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcrazy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    130
    54
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Always a great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family has been going to the Keg in Barrie for years now and we have always had a great meal. We always order the same - keg classics - NY strip steak. Though it sounds simple in nature it is amazing on how many kitchens can screw up a steak. Mine has always been cooked to perfection - very tender - well seasoned. The large loaded baked potato and seasonal veg that go with it are again simple in nature but done right. The meal is not cheap but compared to other steak houses is not that expensive either. The ONE disappointment we had on our last visit is that they took away the veg tempura appetizer that we LOVED. Please bring it back as we ordered this every time. My wife would make a meal of this alone if she had the option. Overall the atmosphere is very nice - the service polished and the experience very good. Keep it up!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChefFatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good ambiance and amazing food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a gift card which was great...we always love going here..the food is to die for!! The prices are steep but we still like to go there on special occasions...if you have any alcohol..you be close to the $100 for a couple!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Been here twice and had very delicious food each time. Steaks were great quality and the sides were excellent. Service was about average for any chain restaurant.

Things that need improvement are the prices and steak cooking preferences. On our second visit I ordered my steak medium, but it was quite rare. I still ate it as it was good, but it really is something that needs more focus. It seems the prices have gone up. For the value, you can get steak meals like this at other steakhouses in town for a fraction of the price.

Overall though, we were pretty impressed with this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyChristine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mouth watering steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Keg always delivers a very tasty steak with good condiments included. About the only negatives are the loudness in the restaurant itself, and the usual wait to get a table. It would be an awful place to eat for someone with a hearing aid.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Barrie also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing