We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boating fun”

Conestogo Lake Conservation Area
Ranked #2,145 of 4,084 things to do in Ontario
Attraction details
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boating fun”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoy going to Conestogo, we have a boat and go for that reason. Great fishing. Camping spots are average. One of the cleaner of the GRCA parks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SwiftChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Had Potential but needs a little work, especially the Beach”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We went camping here in October 2011 as we got some amazing weather. First off, many of the sites are too close together as others mentioned AND worst there is no trees separating them. We were lucky and no one was camping, so we had the whole place to ourselves but in the summer this would be a terrible setup.

We also noticed that the workers do not patrol regularly and worse they leave the gate open at night so anyone could virtually enter the park grounds, I didn't really feel safe camping here since there were virtually no other people there (in Summer at least lots of other people around).

THE BIGGEST CRIME HERE IS THE BEACH - For the love of Pete please put some better sand down and get rid of all the rocks! Its a terrible terrible beach but only because they have done NOTHING to make it better. All they need to do is get a tractor with a rock screen behind it (seen this before) and rake up all those rocks, there are rocks everywhere and big ones, including in the water. It would be dangerous for kids, its very hard to walk including in the water and essentially this completely ruins the beach. I actually went swimming (water was freezing in October) and the sand was like quick sand in the water, when you actually stepped on sand and not rocks. If they got rid of at least most of the rocks and brought in a couple loads of nice soft sand the beach would be a great spot and make the campground as a whole MUCH MUCH more appealing. (yes they need to spend a bit of money)

The highlight of the place was actually the washroom, it was air-conditioned! It was also clean however there was ONLY ONE Shower!!!! The Lower Park has no showers at all so I imagine there must be quite a line up for the shower in the summer, especially because swimming isnt that attractive either. Not sure if there was actually another bathroom with shower other than this one for North part of park but for the main grounds and the Lower Park, that was it.

LOTS of boaters visiting here and it looks to be setup good for them as others mentioned, I suppose there must be some decent fishing but never found out for sure. There is a concession close to boat launch but it was closed when we were there.

There were some okay sites on Lower Park (which had separate entrance, need to drive to shower and beach) but I'm not sure we will ever come back unless they build another shower room and fix the beach as we usually camp in summer and these shortcomings will hurt the summer experience quite a bit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank jayjonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Worst Conservation Area - Wanted my Money Back!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

There is only one type of person that should utilize this Conservation Area, boaters. The swimming area is horrible, so much so it's almost comedic. The camp grounds are squeezed so close together you're back to a pseudo urban environment. I went for a hike with my wife, which took 15 mins and then all the options were out.

The lake is beautiful but don't bother with the Conservation Area. I'll never be back!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank TheProbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Targeted at boaters and seasonal campers...”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We visited Conestogo Lake Conservation Area to scout possible camping locations of the' fairly close to home/easy to get to' variety. The conservation area, and lake, seem to cater to boaters of all descriptions. Finding a shady spot near the boat launch on a Sunday afternoon, and watched a steady stream of pwc's, fishing boats, runabouts, wake boarding boats, to a 21 foot saiboat get unloaded, or loaded.

Beyond that, the appeal is fairly limited. About half of the campsites are in use by seasonal campers, of the full-on deck and patio lantern variety. No judgement there, but somewhat inconsistent with the tent-based 'transient' experience that we were looking for. None of the campsites were what i'd call private, and many were pretty much wide open. The specific sites that were our candidates were open, and located between the washrooms (you could hear the toilet flush) and the road to the boat launch (you could hear the steady stream of pickup trucks and trailers). They were also pretty close to the highway that runs by the conservation area.

There is a beach, it struck me as being about 200 feet across, and gravelly, generally unappeal from a 'plant your chair down and relax' perspective, but I'm sure OK for a cooling dip. There is 'a' nature trail (well, two, but the 2nd seemed to be a couple of hundred feet long...), boat rentals, and a small food concession.

We paid our $10.50, wandered around a bit, bought a packaged ice cream treat, watched boats go in and out of the water, and continued our daytrip elsewhere.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
13 Thank whywhynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conestogo Lake Conservation Area also viewed

 

Been to Conestogo Lake Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing