We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, huge portions.”

Settlers Saltwater Cafe
Ranked #12 of 40 Restaurants in Pictou
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location, huge portions.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a regular pub on the water, without the local touch (they serve Burger and all other sort of pub food) not that there is anything wrong with it.
The Location is great , if you choose the patio or the inside.
The food is good, and the portions are huge.
I am ranking it average as there was something missing to make it a very good experience... not sure what.
But this is a solid establishment, and you can go there without a doubt.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xtof44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    36
    18
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“yummy fish & chips”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

could sit on a covered patio and enjoy the view of the harbour " Hector " while enjoying the fish & chips Great people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b2mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location on the water”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location was great, sitting right on the water in a screened in patio. Very nice watching the boats come and go while enjoying a cold beverage.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food on the water”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Love the outdoor seating, which is in a big screened porch. Typical seafood fare and some other interesting dishes (stir-fry, for instance) as well. Some of the menu items seemed a bit overpriced. Myself & most of the people I was with had fried seafood dishes. The fish & chips was great- generous portion & perfect amount of batter (in my opinion). Fries were decent, but I wish they'd been seasoned a bit more. We got our food very quickly. Our waitress was reasonably friendly, but not enthusiastic or particularly helpful. When I asked for one of the beers on tap, she was confused and didn't seem to know what I was talking about. Definitely a family-friendly place, casual atmosphere, good seafood. I would probably go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katieanddougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not haute cuisine but that's not what you go for”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Saltwater is one of those quirky places. Promoted out of the ordinary by having a semi outside section - basically a very large awning it is worth the trip.

The menu is a typical Maritimes menu - lots of fish including lobster. Service tends to be pretty snappy although we have had to wait quite a while once and portion size is just right. Prices were average for the province and it has a decent wine and beer list.

Don't go if you want haute cuisine but do go if you want good fish, well prepared in an ambient setting.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settlers Saltwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Settlers Saltwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing