We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old house, extremelly kind hosts”
Review of Willow House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Willow House Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming old house, extremelly kind hosts”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This charming old house is a strategic point in the way to or from PEI via ferry.
Room was clean bright and comfortable. Hosts, Debby & Jamie, were extremely helpful and friendly.
We were willing to get on the first ferry to PEI next day. Our hosts were kind enough to prepare a wonderful breakfast for us early enough to get to our destination on time. We really appreciated their kindness despite they probably got up earlier than usual for that.
Their frittata was excellent.
I will certainly recommend this B&B for a pleasant and relaxed stay.

Thank you Debby & Jamie for your hospitality.

Raudel & Madel

Room Tip: room 2C is comfy and very fresh and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raudel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    31
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
60
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great value for the price...we were given two rooms with a common bath for my husband, myself and our daughter. Breakfast was home-made and beautifully presented. Great cinnamon buns, Debbie! Jamie and Debbie were very pleasant, remembered everyone's name, and were very gracious in providing helpful information for, the next leg of our journey to PEI. We arrived late in Pictou, but were impressed by the small-town feel, and the dinner we had at a local restaurant at the wharf. Our only minor suggestion would be to provide fluffier pillows. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKfunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Let's start off with the good - the hosts were charming, chatty, friendly. They also allowed us to bring our large dog and keep him in the room.

Pictou doesn't look like it's doing too well. Half the businesses are boarded up and the waterfront is of mediocre interest. I don't know how the B&B manages to stay in business. Although the owner assured us they do a brisk business, how then is it so difficult to do upgrades on the house? Twice I hit my head on the beam over the toilet, the 2nd time so hard I cried. Our so-called ensuites, were this bathroom at the end of the hallway that other guests could easily have also used. There was NO WHERE to hang wet towels to be re-used.

We are breakfast people and the food, although nicely presented and fresh, was meager. My husband was given the same amount of food as our 6 year old and we were never offered 2nds (or even adult portions for that matter). No meat either. I would give the breakfast a huge thumbs down overall.

Reading what other people have written and reminded me of, I would agree the place needs a serious updating. I wouldn't go back. In fact, Pictou is not a place to park yourself for a few days. You would die of boredom. Nice place to visit for a day on your way elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riesling F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in the Willow House Inn for one night on our way from Nova Scotia to New Brunswick. You would not find better hosts than Jamie and Debbie and their home is delightful. We enjoyed an hour or 2 having a drink and relaxing in the loungeroom in the evening talking to them and other travellers that were staying at the Inn. The rooms were comfortable and clean with in room free wi-fi. Debbie's freshly cooked breakfast was fantastic. You can not find better than the Willow House Inn in Pictou.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imagine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

You couldn't ask for friendlier hosts than Debby and Jamie. They have their work cut out in keeping an elderly home in top shape but their energies have paid off. Jamie is a very good icebreaker and takes the trouble to introduce the guests to each other while still not intruding on their privacy. I felt they both captured the Nova Scotian hospitality that the province is reknown for.
Our room was spacious and the beds comfortable. The carpet had seen better days, a plunger standing to attention next to the toilet gave a little cause for concern, and getting the claw-footed bathtub plug to fit was a bit of a puzzle. But it all worked out fine. Breakfast was excellent, and knowledge of local attractions and places to dine was first-rate. We have no reservations about returning, it's a warm and friendly place.

Room Tip: room overlooking the main road had more morning traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Excellent value offered by charming, attentive hosts. Well kept 1840 mansion. The full, hot breakfast was delicious and filling. We lucked out being in Pictou for the Sept 15th anniversary of the landing of the historic ship Hector that brought 200 intrepid Scots to a new life in America in 1773. Entertainment, exhibits, the works! A replica of the ship (lovingly built by volunteers) is permanently moored at the nearby quay as part of the fascinating Hector Heritage Center. Pictou grew to be a major port after the wave of Scottish immigration (20,000 followed over the years after the Hector landed). Join the Curling Club if you wish. Buy a kilt or a tartan at the Heritage gift shop. This B&B used to be the mayor's house. Lots of beautiful stately homes around the town. Our B&B hosts were eager to share information about the town, its history, and any practical touring pointers. What started as just a stopover after our 8 p.m. ferry trip from Prince Edward Island turned into a wonderful, memorable experience.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no elevator. Our room was on the third floor and we had to share a bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthritisDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullowhee
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Owners are very gracious and hopsitable. They really made us comfortable. The room was restful and the bed wonderful for sleeping! When we are next in the area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1NAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
0.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
245 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#10 of 12 in Pictou
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow House Inn

Property: Willow House Inn
Address: 11 Willow Street, Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willow House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome our guests with warm Maritime hospitality. A registered Historic property with spacious, tastefully decorated rooms. A short walk from downtown, the waterfront, restaurants, entertainment and across the street from a very nice walking trail.We are famous for our breakfasts and homemade jams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Willow House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow House Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing