We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs...serious unethical practices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolan's Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs...serious unethical practices”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

A group of 5, all in our 40's and 50's from Germany and Canada. Owner is a uniformed policeman who stood infront at his cop car with his K9 dog watching us the whole time while we unloaded without any introduction making us think we were getting a ticket. Then later that night his manager barged into our apartment at 9:30 pm without waiting for us to answer the door and looked all around the apartment. I inquired if the visit was for payment - which we agreed was to to be done at checkout- but said she alreday charged my credit card ,without my authorization. Unacceptable business practices of trespassing and use of credit card information.
The apartment was run down and in need of updates.Left after one night...no need to stay longer in Pictou anyways.

Room Tip: Stay in New Glasgow if you wish to be closer to Melmerby Beach as it has more options and more to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Very sweet owners. Clean comfortable room with immaculate bathroom. Slept extremely well on the nice bed. Breakfast provided in town. Excellent value for the money, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chompchompNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in one of their apartments and as we drove up to it we already felt dread. It is located right beside a convenience store and there is no parking except for in front of a very large garbage bin. When we entered, it didn't look too bad but when we started to look around we noticed just how unfinished and old, things were. We were travelling with our children and the one bedroom only had a single cot without a pillow and all the beds (three bedrooms) had sheets that looked like they were VERY old. The other bedroom had an extremely musty smell too it and I had a very hard time letting my child sleep there. It was VERY noisy into late evening with a couple of visits from the police to the convenience store. I couldn't wait to leave the next day and I couldn't discuss any of my concerns with anyone as I had to prepay for the night and then they drove us to the location. The most disturbing thing was that there was no smoke detector in the apartment. It had been taken out and there was only one exit so it was very concerning to think that the owners didn't feel that it was important to have a smoke detector installed in this " 4 Star" accomodation! I would never stay here again and highly recommend looking else where.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AGreatFamilyRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here one night. The room was clean and the inn provided us with a crib. The room also has a nice balcony (would be a great view if it wasn't for the paper factory across the river!). It's on the outskirts of town and easy to find. There is also a small fridge in the room which is pratical. You also get a great free breakfast at a local diner.

There's a nice lounge with pool table on the main floor.

Our main issue with this inn was not the fault of the inn: the weather was miserable and our baby was cranky - not a good combination.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I had to come to Pictou on business, and wasn't expecting much. This place was recommended, and I spoke to Maureen, the proprietor, as it was short notice. I was put in what is basically a fully equipped 3 bed apartment, for less than the cost of a budget chain hotel. They have normal rooms too, but the apartment option is great if you need a bit of space and privacy.

Maureen was very laid back and helpful.

In my opinion, it's a good choice if you want something a little different.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geedee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Great location
Clean, well furnished
Great bed & mattress
No Smoking +++
Friendly and accomodating staff
Saving already for a return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Village
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Dolan's Inns is a perfect place to stay, the beds are the most comfortable, the rooms are super clean, large balconies with lots of deck chairs, big tv's with satellite programming, The two common rooms have a pool table in one :) and leather sofa and chairs and TV for relaxing in the other one. I hate to brag to much about this place because it will make it harder for us to get rooms: once you go once you keep wanting to book for the next year. We were a group of 4 couples, we couldn't complain about anything, price was reasonalbe (or better than reasonable) Staff & Owner are super efficient and courteous and Fun. We are even now considering a snowmobile trip in the winter and staying here for the night. Everything is in walking distance, the location is easy to get to, with lots of parking.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
8.5 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
91 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
4.7 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolan's Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolan's Inn and Suites

Property: Dolan's Inn and Suites
Address: 168 West River Road, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolan's Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolan's Inn & Suites is located in the town Pictou,Nova Scotia. It is centrally located 90 minfrom Halifax,75min from Cape Breton and 5 min from the Prince Edward Island ferry terminal.Dolan's consist of a 15 room motel and several smaller buildings. many of the rooms have balconies,water views and all have private baths) We have 17 suites ranging from a one bedroom to a complete three bedroom house.Dolan's has a Canada Select 4 Star rating. Free wireless ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Dolan's Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolan's Inn And Suites Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing