We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mediocre food”
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We are local and go each season for lunch a couple of times and for dinner at least once. We will continue to go for lunch but not dinner. We had made a 730 PM dinner reservation on a Saturday evening to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived there was only one other couple in the dining room. The hostess who was young ,not very friendly or accommodating led us to the table next to the prep station and kitchen. It was obvious we were not happy but it was our great waiter Liam who moved us to another table. The food was at best mediocre and the meal was well in excess of $150.00 .During the last 30 plus minutes of our meal the waitresses were preparing for the brunch on Sunday. This meant they were gathering up silverware, glasses, linens. Actually everything short of vacumming. They were trying to do this quietly but it is impossible. Next to the poor quality food this was the worst part.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    82
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
89
127
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford Nova Scotia
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Pictou Lodge is like a home away from home for our family!! My family is originally from Pictou and all of our family reunions and family gatherings are always held at the lodge. We look forward to any event that can get us all together to enjoy each other and the atmosphere at the lodge. As soon as we drive down the driveway we relax, knowing our weekend will be perfect! Our children can always find something to occupy themselves with as the activities for kids are endless.....and for us....we can relax knowing our children are safe. We personally love the log cabins with the stone fireplaces....even on a hot summer night, we sit and relax in front of the fire and wind down. The staff is great and are always there if you need them, and much to our enjoyment....will even organize a beach campfire for us!! The facilities are very clean, and the dining experience is second to none....I have and will continue to recommend the Lodge to anyone....whether you are travelling as a family with children, or just want a romantic weekend away....Pictou Lodge really does cater to it all........We look forward every year to going back...!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EU4RIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NS
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Chalet comfortable and well appointed. Pleasant grounds. Food very good even though the place was busy with a function and a wedding. The staff friendly and attentive without saying "Hi my name is Jules and I will be your server." Gift shop good with local products and very little kitsch. The fire in the bar was welcome for it was a wet day outside. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We have a lovely time here. There were lots of fun things for our kids to do and when we checked in we recieved a welcome letter for our kids. They really thought they were important and it was a very nice way to welcome us there. We enjoyed having a s'more roast on the beach and were able to purchase s'more kits at the hotel. The food was wonderful and we were treated very much like family .I would definitly reccomend this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimesNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Very disappointed in Sunday brunch compared to other years.The quality and variety of food was not up to previous years.The price was up from last year,more seating and lineups.Stations were not restocked and plates were not always available.The waitress had too many tables to look after properly.Food in serving dishes was cold.We were never asked if everything was satisfactory.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MollieHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Nestled on a beach just a short ferry ride from PEI, the Pictou Lodge Resort is a restful, beautiful playground for adults, families, anyone who can spend a week or even a night in this gorgeous, quiet setting.
The accommodations in rows of cabins along the ocean, were reminiscent of those at Jasper Park Lodge (but newer and in some ways better appointed). A beautiful restaurant overlooks a beach, a large calm pond and the ocean. (No menu notes as we didn't have time to enjoy the restaurant's offerings.)
The scenery was differently, but equally breathtaking and it broke our hearts to leave and hit the highway for home. If you're headed for Nova Scotia, plan to make a stop before you get to Cape Breton and breathe in the beauty that is Pictou. We were just passing through but will make a point of telling everyone about this resort, and of course, we'll endeavour to return to this lovely spot ourselves, and soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

This is a magical place to stay but you must request one of the original log cabins. The restaurant is very good. Nice service. Take the trail walk through the woods-- it will remind you of days at scout camp.
I have stayed twice at the lodge...once on a bus trip (Aug)with my daughter and since we enjoyed it so much I went back several years later (June) with my husband.
Late August and early June were great there...so maybe off season is the better time (if you like quiet ) to visit.

  • Liked — the quaintness of the original log cabins
  • Disliked — the newer additions
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank airbag_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
10.3 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
101 reviews
3.7 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
245 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort

Property: Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Address: 172 Lodge Road | PO Box 1539, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nova Scotia Beach Resort - Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Atlantic Canada Premier Vacation DestinationPictou Lodge Resort, Nova Scotia is just minutes from both Pictou, home of the Ship Hector, and the PEI ferry. Our Nova Scotia oceanside resort features log cottages, private beaches and natural family recreation activities. Experience renowned Taste of Nova Scotia seafood dining and a famous Sunday brunch in our fireside dining room and Oceanview Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Hotel Pictou
Pictou Hotel
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing