We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
nova scotia
1 review
“Great Family Fun !!”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We have a lovely time here. There were lots of fun things for our kids to do and when we checked in we recieved a welcome letter for our kids. They really thought they were important and it was a very nice way to welcome us there. We enjoyed having a s'more roast on the beach and were able to purchase s'more kits at the hotel. The food was wonderful and we were treated very much like family .I would definitly reccomend this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimesNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    82
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
89
127
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Very disappointed in Sunday brunch compared to other years.The quality and variety of food was not up to previous years.The price was up from last year,more seating and lineups.Stations were not restocked and plates were not always available.The waitress had too many tables to look after properly.Food in serving dishes was cold.We were never asked if everything was satisfactory.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MollieHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Nestled on a beach just a short ferry ride from PEI, the Pictou Lodge Resort is a restful, beautiful playground for adults, families, anyone who can spend a week or even a night in this gorgeous, quiet setting.
The accommodations in rows of cabins along the ocean, were reminiscent of those at Jasper Park Lodge (but newer and in some ways better appointed). A beautiful restaurant overlooks a beach, a large calm pond and the ocean. (No menu notes as we didn't have time to enjoy the restaurant's offerings.)
The scenery was differently, but equally breathtaking and it broke our hearts to leave and hit the highway for home. If you're headed for Nova Scotia, plan to make a stop before you get to Cape Breton and breathe in the beauty that is Pictou. We were just passing through but will make a point of telling everyone about this resort, and of course, we'll endeavour to return to this lovely spot ourselves, and soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

This is a magical place to stay but you must request one of the original log cabins. The restaurant is very good. Nice service. Take the trail walk through the woods-- it will remind you of days at scout camp.
I have stayed twice at the lodge...once on a bus trip (Aug)with my daughter and since we enjoyed it so much I went back several years later (June) with my husband.
Late August and early June were great there...so maybe off season is the better time (if you like quiet ) to visit.

  • Liked — the quaintness of the original log cabins
  • Disliked — the newer additions
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank airbag_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Stayed at this lodge last week in one of the cottages.

Was attracted to it because it advertises full kitchen, suite facilites useful to a young family. However on arriving last week the cottage smelt musty and full of very old fittings. May be trying to look quaint but looked just tired and in need of a facelift. The kitchen comprises of a sink squashed between a fridge and oven with microwave 6 foot off the floor.! The bathroom had ants in and mozzie nets didnt fit windows snuggly.

On the plus side the location is superb, very pretty beach, lake and loads of activites to do. The restuarant is also fab though pricey. All in all, a great place if you don't have to go inside!

  • Liked — the grounds and outside facilites
  • Disliked — the room!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank cathersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I must say I came on here to rant and rave about Pictou Lodge Resort and to my surprise saw a previous negative comment and was shocked. My family and I stay at Pictou Lodge Resort every year and keep coming back because of its excellence in service, accommodations and food. We are always made to feel at home, just the way we like it. From check-in, to the dining room, the cleaners, the grounds and beyond is a top notch place to stay. I would recommend and do recommend this resort to everyone and anyone. Our family travels all over the Maritimes both for vacation and business, we always look forward to going back home to Pictou Lodge Resort!! Bravo!!

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — smell of the paper plant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaMHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

A wonderful and beautiful place. The cabins are meticulous maintained as well as the grounds. Staff is pleasant and service was excellent. The chef has created a delicious menu and the brunch is second to none. This is a true gem in Nova Scotia.

  • Liked — Cleanleness and service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank landsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
10.3 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
101 reviews
3.7 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
245 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort

Property: Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Address: 172 Lodge Road | PO Box 1539, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nova Scotia Beach Resort - Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Atlantic Canada Premier Vacation DestinationPictou Lodge Resort, Nova Scotia is just minutes from both Pictou, home of the Ship Hector, and the PEI ferry. Our Nova Scotia oceanside resort features log cottages, private beaches and natural family recreation activities. Experience renowned Taste of Nova Scotia seafood dining and a famous Sunday brunch in our fireside dining room and Oceanview Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Hotel Pictou
Pictou Hotel
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing