We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fact finding mission”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend one day and a night at Pictou Lodge in May in order to get a feel for what it might be like in August. The reason being that we intend to invite our extended family for a vacation in August; we also wanted to have a little jaunt away from our home in Halifax.
Pleased to be able to say that it passed with flying colours. The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable, all amenities excellent and the restuarant superb. The younger members will have a superb, energetic vacation and I will enjoy.
We have booked for August.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jontmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 291 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We took in the ambiance as we sat by the fire in the bar and finally relaxed sipping our drinks. We then went through to the dining room to experience excellent food and service. Now this was the way to unwind after a transatlantic flight! We will be back again for 2012.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan and Jacqu... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

That was the best place to stay for our two days. We had a lot of fun with the staff. And what a staff, Hats off to the Chef, and to all of them for making this the best two days of our lives.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgalipeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have heard many people say they had stayed here over the years and wanted to see it. We weren't sure what to expect as the lodge is older and may have seen better days. It was a step back in time beside the sea. The rooms were as we expected clean and met our needs. We had a nice balcony from which to view the water and relax.

Dinner was wonderful, service was great and my dietary issues were addressed.

We had breakfast as well in the morning. The main dining room is original and beautiful.

This is a grand place to spend a night.

Room Tip: This is a must if you love the old lodges and the log architecture. The main lodge is very exciting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is located right on the water.
Plenty of things to do.
Staff was very nice!
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh_Brewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed in one of the cottages for 4 days for a large family group. The setting was beautiful and the lake with the paddle boats and canoes was such a nice touch. The firepit on the beach was well set up. The kids really enjoyed the pool. The restaurant was not accessible due to a fire that happened earlier in the summer, yet they said there would be a complementary breakfast in a makeshift tent, yet it was really disorganized and from day to day you did not know if it was running or not. We found it difficult to get supplies such as toilet paper for the staff. We were down to allocating minimum squares to each member of the family.

Room Tip: Check to see if they have repaired their restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeannieSmallTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at this resort to attend a wedding, which was held at the resort as well. We were both impressed with the location, the value and the service. We stayed in the standard hotel room, which was very clean and sufficiently spacious, however we did have the opportunity to view the 2-story cottages which were beautifully appointed. We will definitely consider staying there once again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingvan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
10.2 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
105 reviews
3.8 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
259 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort

Address: 172 Lodge Road | PO Box 1539, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pictou
Price Range: $140 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nova Scotia Beach Resort - Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Atlantic Canada Premier Vacation DestinationPictou Lodge Resort, Nova Scotia is just minutes from both Pictou, home of the Ship Hector, and the PEI ferry. Our Nova Scotia oceanside resort features log cottages, private beaches and natural family recreation activities. Experience renowned Taste of Nova Scotia seafood dining and a famous Sunday brunch in our fireside dining room and Oceanview Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Hotel Pictou
Pictou Hotel
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing