We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Evening Sail B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evening Sail B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

Our family of 5 stayed with Gail, Michelle, Roger and the kids favourite "Zoe" for 10 days. Having stayed here a number of years ago I knew we would be welcome and we were. 11/2 weeks is a long time to spend in a B&B but it made a wonderful base for all of our excursions and we didn't feel like we overstayed.

The room was really nice and cleaned every day, better than many other places I've stayed in. Breakfasts were wonderful and set us up for the best part of the day (extra muffins or danish helped too).

It was like leaving family when we had to head home.

I would strongly recommend Evening Sail to friends or family and in fact I have on a number of occasions. We will be back some time in the not too distant future:)

  • Liked — Our hosts and their ongoing hospitality.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaranD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    32
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
162
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

We checked in late due to a much-delayed arrival into Halifax and received a warm and pleasant greeting and introduction to the property. Our room was in a building adjacent to the main house and was set up like an efficiency apt. - small but competent kitchen, sitting area, comfortable enough bed and undistinguished bathroom. The room had sliding glass doors as the main entrance and one small window on the side.

We obvously kept the drapes covering the glass doors closed for the night, giving the room something like the feel of a tunnel. It was also hot and even the fan provided didn't help that much. The furnishings could best be described as "eclectic" and had a yard-sale feel to them.

Breakfast was served at 8:30 am. sharp and was quite good. The innkeeper promised that we would make the 9:30 ferry to P.E.I and we did, with plenty of time to spare.

Overall, this is a pleasant place run by friendly folks, but I think the daily tariff was too steep for what we got.

  • Liked — Pleasant Staff
  • Disliked — Weird room furnishings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TruthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is a pleasant B&B in the ever-so-Scottish town of Pictou. As previous reviewers have indicated, the owners are friendly, and breakfast is served en famille around a large table. If you're a bit grumpy in the morning and prefer more of a private breakfast with separate tables, this is definitely not for you. You'll be introduced to everyone and expected to participate in the conversation. The food is freshly made and quite good, and the innkeepers offered everyone muffins to take with them.

We stayed in Max's Landing, which was indeed a very private feeling suite. There's a compact kitchen and a small bathroom. To be honest, the room didn't look as charming as it did on the website, and I wish we'd chosen one of the others, especially since Max's Landing seems to be the only one without a hardwood floor. We could also hear the people thumping around upstairs, so I would probably choose an upper floor room next time.

The bed, however, was as comfy as advertised. You do get your money's worth there.

  • Liked — Charming neighborhood close to waterfront
  • Disliked — Wish we'd chosen one of the other rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Evening Sail is a lovely Bed and Breakfast conveniently located in Pictou just a few short miles from the PEI ferry. It is operated by an obviously loving mother-daughter team who work hard to make their venture a success.

My initial contact with the inn was a phone call for a reservation. I was amazed at the courtesy and friendliness of the inkeeper.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by name. Michelle was incredibly hospitable and made us feel welcome immediately. She offered advice about dinner locations and sites to see during our stay. Her warmth and concern for her guests appeared genuine.

The room was large and well decorated. We had a shady balcony that was perfect for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing.

Breakfast was top rate. All food was made from scratch by Gail-the mother of the innkeeper team. Every effort was made to accomodate a guest's particular tastes. Breakfast was served around a large table, so conversation was easy with other guests. The innkeepers freely conversed with all, creating a convivial, relaxing atmosphere.

Overall, the hospitality of the innkeepers made for an extremely pleasant stay.

  • Liked — the innkeepers
  • Disliked — view from balcony
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dznydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

We had not made a prior reservation but came to the door to check for an opening and were greeted like family! The mother and daughter team who operate the inn are a huge reason why I would stongly recommend this B and B. The daughter runs the place and is extremely friendly and helpful. While they both aspire to improve this location to be even nicer than it is, we found the accomodations to be everything we could want.

The B and B is actually two houses that are next to each other. There's ample off street parking between and behind the houses.
There are some common rooms for relaxing and free internet access in one of these rooms for checking email, etc.

Our room was huge and had a deck looking out over buildings and trees to the bay. Beds were comfortable and we even had a small kitchen and living room.

The town is nice and is trying to become a destination spot. However, it is a work in progress. The riverfront is nice but small.
Dining options were good and folks were friendly. There are some Scotish shops in town it you are interested.

Breakfast was amazing. The variety and quality of the home made food was spectacular. All guests sat together around a large table and had a great time
enjoying the food and lively conversation. I wish we could have stayed longer! It felt like we had gotten together with friends for brunch!

I'm so glad we stopped and stayed here. It was our last night in beautiful Nova Scotia and as we headed off to Halifax my wife and I agreed that we couldn't have been happier with our accomodations for our the trip. They even sent us off with home made muffins to enjoy as we left!

  • Liked — Friendliness, Food, Room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

This is a lovely Bed and Breakfast. Our room was beautiful and clean and had a fabulous deck overlooking the harbour. The innkeepers, Michelle and Gail, were extremely welcoming and a joy to talk to. The breakfast was amazing and more than we could eat. We were just a short walk to downtown Pictou and a five minute drive to one of the nicest beaches in Nova Scotia. We truly had a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — The innkeepers were wonderful
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask to meet Zoe. She is the sweetest Yorkshire Terrier you'll ever meet.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

We stayed at the Evening Sail for three nights in September 06.

From the moment we stepped over the threshold we felt at home and moreover it was fun. Michelle and Gail (daughter and mother) were extremely hospitable and very knowledgeable about the area and where to eat. We really felt we had new friends here.

We had the Seashell Room which was very clean and attractive with a king-size bed and lots of towels etc.

Breakfast was held in a large open plan kitchen and dining area and the food was heavenly and very well presented. We also had lots of chat with the other guests.

Although we didn't cover all of Nova Scotia on our trip, we are sure we shall return at a later date and make a special diversion to Pictou and the Evening Sail. Extremely handy for the ferry to Prince Edward Island by the way.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, breakfasts and just a 10 minute walk to the town
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate-Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
8.1 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#7 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evening Sail B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Sail B&B

Property: Evening Sail B&B
Address: 279 Denoon Street, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evening Sail B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star B&B with really, really comfy beds, all private en-suite bathrooms, lots of over-sized towels, and private balconies (most with harbour views). Some suites with king bed, fireplace or kitchen facilities. Enjoy freshly ground, gourmet coffee with our included breakfast where we serve such delicious things as Grand Marnier french toast with lemon sauce and fresh blueberries, eggs benedict or savoury quiche with croissants fresh from the oven. The perfect stopover on your way to PEI & Cape Breton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Evening Sail B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evening Sail B&B Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing