We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B!”
Review of Evening Sail B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evening Sail B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at this charming B&B. Michelle gave us the warmest welcome and was a fount of useful information about the local area. The room (Seashell) was just wonderful, with a private balcony, ceiling fan and an air conditioning unit (which we did need to use on one night although as with all these types of unit, earplugs are recommended!). The room was delightfully decorated and the house has real character. Breakfasts were something else!!! How lovely to sit down with everyone - could have been a little unnerving for shy folk, but Michelle and Gail get the conversations flowing with such ease it wouldn't be a problem. We loved it and could have stayed there chatting until lunchtime. The food was fantastic - a refreshing change from the usual standard fare, prepared to a very high standard and they seem to accommodate just about any dietary variation! There was plenty of choice for places to eat locally - sure they close early'ish but it's a small town; this is to be expected. The pulp mill was visible from the harbour, on the opposite coast in the distance but really didn't detract. Carver's Bar was a lovely laid back place to have a drink and watch the world go by. I couldn't recommend this B&B too highly :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlightsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Evening Sail B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

Michelle and Gail were wonderful hosts. The Evening Sail B & B and Pictou were one of the highlights of our trip to Nova Scotia.

The food was spectacular, the company amazing. Our room was large and comfortable. Our hosts had everything covered. They went out of their way to provide much appreciated advice on where to go, what to do and places to eat. They even leant us lawn chairs for a relaxing evening on the beach!

Our hosts were very professional and accomodating. We are definitely going back to the Evening Sail B & B but hopefully for a longer stay next time! Thanks, Michelle and Gail.

Joanne and Steve, 07/2010

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Kranky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

What a fantastic place to rest our heads for the night in a charming Nova Scotia town. Michelle greeted us in a typical warm Maritime way. We stayed in the room called Pebble, which was very cozy and roomy. The bed was so comfy! And what thick towels we had! We had a claw foot tub and a shower, which was handy. I loved my relaxing time in the tub. The next morning Gail and Michelle fed us well; fruit, French toast, yogurt, juice, tea or coffee and a muffin! (I forgot about the Muffin Contest and ate it!)
I heartily recommend this B&B to you all--it was a wonderful place. The living room/den was very inviting with its book lined shelves, cozy chairs, and the decor is charming.
Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did--we will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We travel to Pictou every year to visit friends in the area and have a little get-away weekend. We discovered Evening Sail B & B about 4 years ago and have been staying there every year since. The owners, Gail and Michelle, have created a welcoming, comfortable and homey environment.

The house and rooms are always immaculate. We have stayed in all 3 rooms in the main house and each one is very comfortable, with all the amenities you could want. And the beds are, as advertised, really REALLY comfy! Our favorite rooms are Seashell and Sandpiper because each one has a covered private verandah off of the bedroom. It's so nice to sit on the verandah (which feels like a treehouse because of the huge oak tree in the backyard) and relax with a glass of wine after a day of touring around.

The breakfasts are fantastic! In addition to homemade muffins and pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, and granola, Gail and Michelle prepare and serve a hot main course which is different each day (blueberry pancakes, french toast with orange sauce, quiche are just some examples). One of the most fun parts of each trip is the conversation and fellowship around the breakfast table every morning. All of the guests sit around the big kitchen table and share their experiences and stories, either about the previous day's excursions or about other places they have been. Gail and Michelle are excellent hostesses and know how to keep the conversation going, often adding funny stories of their own and make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and the attractions. They care about each and every guest and want to make sure they have an enjoyable stay.

We're already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluenosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The last two nights of my maritime vacation were spent at this delightful B&B. Hosts were warm and welcoming, full of excellent information about local sights and events, competent business owners who made me feel well taken care of. Breakfast was amazing and it was a wonderful opportunity to try something new and so carefully and skillfully prepared. Took a little something "to go" as a treat while at the beach and en route home. My room was considered the smallest(with the biggest bathroom) but I found it to be more than comfortable, spotlessly clean, nicely furnished, and my soak in the claw-foot tub after a long day's drive was heavenly. The umbrella, beach chair and beach towel made my day at the beach pure joy. My stay at the Evening Sail was all I expected and more! I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudCanadian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We recently spent the night in the Evening Sail’s “Sandpiper” room during an overnight visit to Pictou. The room was spacious, spotless and beautifully furnished and a joy to stay in. Michelle welcomed us with enthusiasm and humour and provided with useful information to assist us with our stay. Sharing breakfast with our fellow guests (including Murfee 1404) around a large dining table was an unexpected treat. Michelle and Gail’s wit and entertaining stories helped to break the ice and get us chatting as a group. Michelle’s ability to remember and introduce everyone by name was really impressive and a nice touch.
The food was delicious and plentiful and the take-away muffins made lunch unnecessary.

A big thank you to you both!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brettadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

It was absolutely amazing !!!. I am from Ireland and the down-home, traditional cooking (with a twist!) coupled with friendly banter around the breakfast table was very welcoming! My wife is obsessed with cleanliness and was suitably impressed !!! The bed was ultra-soft, clean and comfortable. The hosts couldn't be more friendly and welcoming. We will surely return.Top-notch location with top-notch hospitality and top-notch food!!!. If you leave here unhappy. you probably weren't very happy in the first place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murfee1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
3.8 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#10 of 12 in Pictou
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evening Sail B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Sail B&B

Address: 279 Denoon Street, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range: $114 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evening Sail B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star B&B with really, really comfy beds, all private en-suite bathrooms, lots of over-sized towels, and private balconies (most with harbour views). Some suites with king bed, fireplace or kitchen facilities. Enjoy freshly ground, gourmet coffee with our included breakfast where we serve such delicious things as Grand Marnier french toast with lemon sauce and fresh blueberries, eggs benedict or savoury quiche with croissants fresh from the oven. The perfect stopover on your way to PEI & Cape Breton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Evening Sail B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evening Sail B&B Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing