We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”
Review of Braeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braeside Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

People were nice but worst stay ever. Got no sleep. Noisy ac impossible to sleep with on. Could hear other rooms' ac. Some humming noise & intermittent jackhammer sounds vibrated through room. View of smoke stacks of paper mill was a treat. Smelled odd odor. Trucks loading logs at 6am on Sun. Bathroom outdated. Few amenities. Mattress like a rock. Outdated is huge understatement. Pillows foam or old fiberfill. Towels appeared 25 yrs old or more. Screen missing from a window. Place we wanted was booked. Had we known this was as bad would have gone to another town. Waste of hard earned money. 

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIke Emmett, Owner at Braeside Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Jean D.

Thank you for your comments, and we are sorry that you obviously didn’t enjoy the experience of a traditional Country Inn.

We are confused by your comments re: the “view of the smoke stacks of paper mill being a treat” as the stacks are absolutely not visible in any way from the room you occupied. We acknowledge that window conditioners may sometimes be noisy, but they can be adjusted quite easily to rectify the problem – we have staff available 24-hours a day and if you had advised the Front Desk the unit could have been checked and, if necessary you would have been moved to another room. It is far easier for us to rectify the problem at the time, than try to respond to a complaint four/five days later.

With regard to the “missing screen”, our rooms are checked thoroughly every day by maintenance staff and the screen is not missing. As a matter of interest, that particular room has not been used since you occupied it on August 18, and the screen is indeed in it’s proper place.

There are many different types of mattress on the market with different degrees of hardness to suit individual tastes. Ours exceed the recommended quality and we receive numerous comments and thanks for a good night’s sleep; unfortunately they were obviously different from what you are used to at home. Our pillows are indeed fibrefill, but brand new fibrefill, and are four weeks old. We do however have feather pillows available – these are not placed in the rooms due to allergy issues; however, once again, these would have been made available to you had you mentioned the problem.

Our towels are obviously not 25 years old otherwise we would not be in business. Our entire inventory is replaced at the beginning of every season.

We do apologise for the issue of the trucks loading logs at 6.00 a.m. on Sunday morning. The contractor was not supposed to be working prior to 7.00 a.m. and apparently he misunderstood the directions. We have today spoken to the company who has apologized for the inconvenience caused to our guests.

Unlike larger hotels, smaller properties such as Country Inns can, and do react quickly to a guest’s concerns that may arise during their stay. However, these issues cannot be addressed unless they are brought to the management’s attention during the stay. We advise all of our guests on check-in to contact us imemdiately (day or night) if they should experience a problem of any kind, and do our utmost to deal with the issue quickly and efficiently. Our attempting to rectify your issues after your return home is somewhat futile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Bedroom was very inferior, very hot when we went in.Owner had to come up and start the air conditioner. Nobody else at the inn and I think we were the only guests..The bedroom was quite claustrobic and I had just had a knee injury so stairs were not an option so we opted for something more accessible .it was very clean but no people around ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIke Emmett, Owner at Braeside Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
As our check in time is 2.00 p.m. and this guest checked in at 2.45 p.m. it was quite naturally very quiet as most guests don’t check in until late afternoon/early evening.

Air conditioning in all guest rooms is individually controlled so is not left running while vacant – obviously to conserve energy. As the guest could not figure out the controls, we assisted her in turning it on.

This reservation was phoned in and at no time did the guest ask if there are stairs at the Inn; as most “Inns” have stairs we consider that it is the guest’s responsibility to check out the stair situation on booking, especially if they have just suffered a knee injury.

It should be noted that this guest was not charged even though she had guaranteed the room with her credit card.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pictou hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

stayed here for one night in a 2 bdrm unit.
no a/c in one of the bedrooms so it was very hot in there even with the ceiling fan on.
breakfast is only served between 7:30am-9am.
innkeepers are very nice and helpful though.
no coffeemakers in the room.
bathroom was very very small.
bedrooms were very small.
property is very dated and the room was quite creepy to me as it felt like we were in a prison.
this is a dated property and i would not define this as "boutique" in any manner.
unfortunately i would not opt to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ctrller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIke Emmett, Owner at Braeside Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Not quite sure why you mention the breakfast times – all guests are advised at check in that complimentary breakfast is served 7.30-9.00, and the times are clearly posted at the front desk, on each floor and in the information binder in all rooms. We do however consistently accommodate guests who might be later than 9.00 a.m. if we are made aware that they are a little late.

We are very pleased to be able to offer air conditioned comfort in all of our Inn’s rooms, the only exception being the smaller of the two rooms in the “Family Room”. This room is designed as an “extra” to the larger room for families with two or more children, and the ceiling fan has always been sufficient. We are sorry that this did not work for you.

The Inn is indeed dated in that it was built in 1938 and we are proud to have been able to maintain modern standards without compromising the unique quality of the building and continue to provide guests with comfort, relaxation and ambience second to none in our Town.

Trust that this addresses your concerns and that you and your family enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Atlantic Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Braeside Inn is a unique night's stay! Anne and Mike, our hosts, were incredibly kind, friendly and helpful towards us during our stay. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Anne offered to assist us with cleaning our laundry while we stepped out to enjoy the local fair (laundry is $4.50). Breakfast was in a spacious ballroom with numerous selections. Our hosts were also helpful in providing directions for navigating through Pictou as we continued our journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a real feel to the 1930's rooming house. This is a beautiful kept large house.Very Clean! Small corner room double bed,old furnishing with A/C and a small tv. our own mint green tile washroom Quiet area Had a great sleep! Bed was comfortable.Breakfast was in the dinning room with coffee, muffins, fruit etc. Enjoyed the vintage house( lots to look at.) Great helpful hosts Simply lovely

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at The Braeside Inn as a stop on our way to catch the ferry to PEI. It was a welcome respite from the typical family-type places we tend to stay with our children while on vacation. The kids loved playing on the grass and the free movies they had acess to in the quant sitting room. The hosts were gracious and provided lots of helpful advice on things to do in Pictou and ferry times etc. There is a fantastic pool available during the summer just a short distance away that offers public swimming - great for our kids next time we pass through. We loved the dining room and the healthy children's menu - our meals were excellent. The rooms are basic but provided us with exactly what we needed on our vacation to the East coast. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I just spent a couple days and nights at the Braeside. I needed to unwind and it was conveniently located. The atmosphere was casual but professional and the food was 1st class. This is not a big chain-type property but it is also not a poorly maintained property. It is classy. I highly recommend it for people who want a pleasant experience and great food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Halifaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.9 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#9 of 12 in Pictou
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Inn

Property: Braeside Inn
Address: 126 Front St., Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Braeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 A/c rooms, Satellite TV,most with Harbor view. Continental breakfast included. Guests Laundry facilities. Motor Cycle Wash Station. Guests sitting room with high speed internet and computer. WiFi throughout property. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Braeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing