We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what i expected”
Review of Braeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braeside Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Pictou B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not what i expected”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

stayed here for one night in a 2 bdrm unit.
no a/c in one of the bedrooms so it was very hot in there even with the ceiling fan on.
breakfast is only served between 7:30am-9am.
innkeepers are very nice and helpful though.
no coffeemakers in the room.
bathroom was very very small.
bedrooms were very small.
property is very dated and the room was quite creepy to me as it felt like we were in a prison.
this is a dated property and i would not define this as "boutique" in any manner.
unfortunately i would not opt to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ctrller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIke Emmett, Owner at Braeside Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Not quite sure why you mention the breakfast times – all guests are advised at check in that complimentary breakfast is served 7.30-9.00, and the times are clearly posted at the front desk, on each floor and in the information binder in all rooms. We do however consistently accommodate guests who might be later than 9.00 a.m. if we are made aware that they are a little late.

We are very pleased to be able to offer air conditioned comfort in all of our Inn’s rooms, the only exception being the smaller of the two rooms in the “Family Room”. This room is designed as an “extra” to the larger room for families with two or more children, and the ceiling fan has always been sufficient. We are sorry that this did not work for you.

The Inn is indeed dated in that it was built in 1938 and we are proud to have been able to maintain modern standards without compromising the unique quality of the building and continue to provide guests with comfort, relaxation and ambience second to none in our Town.

Trust that this addresses your concerns and that you and your family enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Atlantic Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Braeside Inn is a unique night's stay! Anne and Mike, our hosts, were incredibly kind, friendly and helpful towards us during our stay. Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Anne offered to assist us with cleaning our laundry while we stepped out to enjoy the local fair (laundry is $4.50). Breakfast was in a spacious ballroom with numerous selections. Our hosts were also helpful in providing directions for navigating through Pictou as we continued our journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a real feel to the 1930's rooming house. This is a beautiful kept large house.Very Clean! Small corner room double bed,old furnishing with A/C and a small tv. our own mint green tile washroom Quiet area Had a great sleep! Bed was comfortable.Breakfast was in the dinning room with coffee, muffins, fruit etc. Enjoyed the vintage house( lots to look at.) Great helpful hosts Simply lovely

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at The Braeside Inn as a stop on our way to catch the ferry to PEI. It was a welcome respite from the typical family-type places we tend to stay with our children while on vacation. The kids loved playing on the grass and the free movies they had acess to in the quant sitting room. The hosts were gracious and provided lots of helpful advice on things to do in Pictou and ferry times etc. There is a fantastic pool available during the summer just a short distance away that offers public swimming - great for our kids next time we pass through. We loved the dining room and the healthy children's menu - our meals were excellent. The rooms are basic but provided us with exactly what we needed on our vacation to the East coast. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I just spent a couple days and nights at the Braeside. I needed to unwind and it was conveniently located. The atmosphere was casual but professional and the food was 1st class. This is not a big chain-type property but it is also not a poorly maintained property. It is classy. I highly recommend it for people who want a pleasant experience and great food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Halifaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were in Pictou for a family gathering and the 3 rooms provided a great place for all 5 of us to stay and enjoy peaceful nightly sleeps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This "inn" is not as advertised. It is NOT on the water but a couple of blocks away. It looks out over a pulp paper mill which runs 24 hours a day and emits a powerful, acrid odor. The decor is early garage sale. The beds uncomfortable. There is no elevator and unless the chef is there to help carry your bags, you will have to drag them upstairs yourself. The food is mediocre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concordeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Braeside Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We clearly state in all of our advertising that we overlook Pictou Harbour; we have never claimed to be “on the water”. Northern Pulp is continuing to work diligently to reduce the odour emitted from their plant, recently resulting in a much reduced occurrence of odors. Our top of the line mattresses and box springs are made to our specifications, resulting in many compliments from guests. There are very few inns of our size in North America that have the luxury of an elevator, and therefore we rely upon our staff to assist guests with oversize or heavy luggage. We feel that most travelers who enjoy the ambience of an Inn recognize that elevators are not an option, and if it is an issue with them, they usually check on that option when making their reservation. The Inn was built in 1938, and maintainance and upgrading of amenities is ongoing without destroying the ambience of an Inn of that era. We receive numerous compliments from guests who stay and dine with us, and return on a regular basis; it is therefore a disappointment to us that you did not enjoy our hospitality and the experience of a unique Inn atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pictou hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
0.6 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#7 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
1.1 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pictou Puffin Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Inn

Property: Braeside Inn
Address: 126 Front St., Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pictou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Braeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 A/c rooms, most with Harbor view. Continental breakfast included. Guests Laundry facilities. Motor Cycle Wash Station. Guests sitting room with high speed internet. WiFi throughout property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Braeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside Inn Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing