We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful campground”

Birchwood Campground & Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pictou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchwood Campground & Cabins
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just gotten home from a fantastic 4 night stay. This was our first time here, but would go back in a minute. The campground was clean well maintained and everyone was very helpful, and friendly. The only possible negative would be that the sites are a little on the small side, but overall it was great. Location is close to town. Great playground, and pool. It also backs onto the trans Canada trail. It was great to be able hook on to the trail, it is well groomed and perfect for running/biking!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NS_travel_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We like to camp a lot and usually camp far from home but this week we were camping with some friends who were first time campers so we thought we should just stay close to home. We've camped at Caribou campground before but not Birchwood so we decided to try Birchwood. It is our new favorite campground! Both Helen and the man who owns the campground were so nice and helpful! We needed a piece of rope for our tarp and the man brought us one of his own so we didn't have to drive into town to purchase some. The playground and pool are the nicest I've seen at a campground and the washrooms were always clean! We loved our spot and we loved going for walks and looking at all the seasonal campers and how nice they have their properties. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The campground was very tight and very narrow sites all the good lots are seasonal the desk lady was great the owner very ignorant and obnoxious will never dark on their door again!camper was rubbing on trees the whole way thru!there was local four wheelers driving by all day and the road was no better with vehicles whiz zing by all night! It was by far the worst experience we have had camping in nova scotia!

Room Tip: Go to another campground this one is a thumbs down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We tented at the Birchwood campgrounds on the weekend of Aug.12th and had a fabulous time! The staff was super friendly and helpful and the grounds were immaculate. There are lots of permanent campers there so it has a very homey friendly feel. The Playground was great and the kids loved the pool. There were activities for everyone and it was all very well run. The site is minutes from New Glasgow and Magic Valley water park. The bathrooms were super clean and very well maintained. Great family place to camp!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capegirlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We paid $30 for a tent site and there was NOTHING here. Further to that, the showers cost $1/4mins. We don't mind paying the $0.25/4mins shower as it does prevent people from having really long showers and wasting water but $1?! That's ridiculous. What am I paying for?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank ATHowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pictou
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
9.5 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
100 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
2.4 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Campground & Cabins

Address: 2521 Highway 376, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pictou
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Birchwood Campground & Cabins Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing