We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful campground”

Birchwood Campground & Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pictou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchwood Campground & Cabins
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful campground”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just gotten home from a fantastic 4 night stay. This was our first time here, but would go back in a minute. The campground was clean well maintained and everyone was very helpful, and friendly. The only possible negative would be that the sites are a little on the small side, but overall it was great. Location is close to town. Great playground, and pool. It also backs onto the trans Canada trail. It was great to be able hook on to the trail, it is well groomed and perfect for running/biking!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS_travel_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We like to camp a lot and usually camp far from home but this week we were camping with some friends who were first time campers so we thought we should just stay close to home. We've camped at Caribou campground before but not Birchwood so we decided to try Birchwood. It is our new favorite campground! Both Helen and the man who owns the campground were so nice and helpful! We needed a piece of rope for our tarp and the man brought us one of his own so we didn't have to drive into town to purchase some. The playground and pool are the nicest I've seen at a campground and the washrooms were always clean! We loved our spot and we loved going for walks and looking at all the seasonal campers and how nice they have their properties. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The campground was very tight and very narrow sites all the good lots are seasonal the desk lady was great the owner very ignorant and obnoxious will never dark on their door again!camper was rubbing on trees the whole way thru!there was local four wheelers driving by all day and the road was no better with vehicles whiz zing by all night! It was by far the worst experience we have had camping in nova scotia!

Room Tip: Go to another campground this one is a thumbs down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pictou hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We tented at the Birchwood campgrounds on the weekend of Aug.12th and had a fabulous time! The staff was super friendly and helpful and the grounds were immaculate. There are lots of permanent campers there so it has a very homey friendly feel. The Playground was great and the kids loved the pool. There were activities for everyone and it was all very well run. The site is minutes from New Glasgow and Magic Valley water park. The bathrooms were super clean and very well maintained. Great family place to camp!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capegirlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, MB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We paid $30 for a tent site and there was NOTHING here. Further to that, the showers cost $1/4mins. We don't mind paying the $0.25/4mins shower as it does prevent people from having really long showers and wasting water but $1?! That's ridiculous. What am I paying for?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ATHowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pictou hotels
7.1 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
2.4 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.7 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Customs House Inn
Customs House Inn
#7 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.9 mi away
Willow House Inn
Willow House Inn
#2 of 12 in Pictou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dolan's Inn and Suites
Dolan's Inn and Suites
#5 of 12 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Campground & Cabins

Property: Birchwood Campground & Cabins
Address: 2521 Highway 376, Pictou, Nova Scotia B0K 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Pictou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Pictou
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Birchwood Campground & Cabins Pictou, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing