We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Food”
Review of Henry House

Henry House
Ranked #9 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South End
Sydney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Henry House Pub occupies a national historic building on Barrington Street near the train station. The pub has a relaxed atmosphere and a rustic feel that offers a variety of craft and local beers. The menu combines British Pub food with Maritime selections. The fish and chips are a good choice as well as the chowders and salads.
If you can snag a patio table on a warm Halifax evening, you will have a great vantage point from which to enjoy what Halifax has on offer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    227
    45
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Went with some Canadian friends so thought it would be good. And it was. We had fish/chips, fish cakes and kids meal. All good quality and service was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Neiljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great shaded patio!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We were here for an evening business meeting. We luckily got a table on the patio. It was nicely shaded with greenery and had a nice breeze which is welcomed on a summer evening.

The tables are cozy, but at no point did we feel cramped. The waiter was friendly and prompt.

The interior of the pub is quite charming.

We had drinks and apps. The calamari was excellent. The spinach dip was nice and cheesy, but the nachos it was served with were so so.

Would definitely recommend this place, so stop in and check it out for yourself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo_Traveler_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good little pub”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

the server had no issues moving us indoors when it cooled down. the outside patio was nice enough. Not very much "gluten free" on the menu, but it's a pub, so I expected that it would be difficult to eat there. Ordered the chicken curry - it was gross. And I'm not sure how "gluten free" it was (I have more silent Celiac, so it's hard to tell sometimes). My non-Celiac dinner mates enjoyed their meal and their beer. It's one of "the" places to go in Halifax, so I would encourage you to check it out. Just be prepared to starve if you have Celiac disease (seriously, do not get the curry).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Me00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The building in which this restaurant resides is a historically designated site, and the food is fantastic. Great stew and even better burger. The ultimate burger is one of the best I've had. Very reasonably priced and the portions are quite large. A great selection as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fordsask24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry House also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Henry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing