We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is ok, food is great!”
Review of Niche Lounge

Niche Lounge
Ranked #336 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service is ok, food is great!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were staying in the hotel that the restaurant is near so it was very convienient for us. We went a few times; the first time being the worst and the last one the best. I highly recommend their seafood chowder and the risotto. The first night we went was a sunday night (the night of the closing ceremonies for the olympics) and the restaurant seemed quite slow but our server just couldnt keep up. We then went back the tuesday for dessert... it was very small for sharing! but still delicious! Friday morning we were back for breakfast which was way over priced for eggs and bacon and pancakes (I would rather go to cabin coffee for breakfast which is on hollis right across from the main entrance from the hotel or downstairs to 'treats' for a bagel) and then friday night we had dinner which was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saskgirly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    48
    30
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manning, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

They offered the prix fix meal for $25, I had the coconut shrimp, the were excellent. The curry sauce for the shrimp added some nice kick to the shrimp. Then I had the sweet chilli salmon, the salmon was cooked perfectly and the sauce on the salmon was so tasty. Then for desert was the cheese cake, it was also really good. We would return again. The only negative was the service was a little slow. It was ok since they have alot of tvs which had the olympics playing.

Helpful?
Thank blufforbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“breakfast ok but slow and overpriced”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had breakfast there on Canada Day. I'm guessing that most of the staff took the holiday off because there were only a few people in the restaurant but the service was very slow. It took quite a while for the food to arrive and getting and paying the bill took ages. The waitress was very pleasant however and seemed to be doing the best she could. I got the "breakfast pie" quesadilla which turned out to be scambled eggs and not much else in a tortilla- not bad but not great either. My husband had a more traditional eggs & bacon type breakfast which he enjoyed. The decor in the restaurant is very pleasant. I expect that if and when they are fully staffed, the customers have a good experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, OR
Level Contributor
155 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not Bad for a Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Niche, is the Sheraton 4 Points hotel restaurant even thought its not in the hotel proper. We hadn't planned on eating dinner here on our first night in Halifax but due to the bad weather we decided to. Our first impression was not positive as our waitress had a bit of an attitude when she first greeted us. She assumed we knew all about their happy hour polices and when she had to explain them you could tell she wished she didn;t have to serve us. But to be honest after that she became friendlier and was quite a good server. The food was very good, served hot and nicely presented. Prices were quite reasonable. As it was happy hour the noise level was rather loud but went down as folks left the bar which is open to the dining room.
We also had breakfast here our first morning in Halifax and it was great. Kevin, our waiter, was very personable and helpful regarding the menu. Food at breakfast was even better the dinner the night before. Also, it was a nice quiet setting in which to have breakfast.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If there was a negative I'd choose that”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

No printed kids menu. Burger was awful (mcds is better). Over priced. Waitress panicked when 3 of our party of 4 left and thought we were skipping out on our bill Called our room at the hotel. Crazy!! She also avoided eye contact When we obviously were looking for her to come to our table. Avoided the Reteraunt for remaining 2 day stay

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shonna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niche Lounge also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Niche Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing