We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be a staple if I lived there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morris East

Morris East
Ranked #34 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unique and delicious wood fired pizza served in a warm and cozy environment. Choose from a variety of mouth watering toppings not found elsewhere or even vegetarian and gluten free options.
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would be a staple if I lived there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is the kind of place you would want in your neighborhood and would go to all the time if you lived here. Not the kind of atmosphere for the big night out, extended evening or whatever people pay for in more substantial places - but the perfect beer and thin crust pizza place. Note that the pizza is small - only super light eaters would share it for dinner. And they "don't have high chairs" but were very nice to us with our 2 year old who sat comfortably in a booth bench.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    80
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

First saw this place on the tv show "You Gotta Eat Here" and we knew we wanted to try it next time we were in the area. Saw on their Twitter that the menu is small and changes often, so we weren't able to try what we wanted to that we saw on the show, but the food was soooo good! So delicious and fresh, we were very pleased! It's a small location, but very good service and food, try it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cutecapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
169 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Wednesday night with a group of six of us and they don't take reservations. We had to wait about an hour for the tiny patio but it was a nice evening and we had the time so we enjoyed a beer at the bar. There are about eight pizzas on offer and all are fresh, a little different, and very well put together. I had an enchilada pizza which was fantastic. They've also got great desserts but sadly, no espresso machine. Friendly service and the food gets out pretty quickly too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dart_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a tiny, crowded restaurant but that doesn't seem to matter; the pizza is wonderful. There are other things on the menu but about 90% of the diners appeared to be having pizza. They use fresh local ingredients and it shows. We had a mushroom and bacon pizza and really enjoyed it. Would be happy to pay a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TOwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family had lunch here and ordered 2 different pizzas. They were made fresh in their wood-fired oven. Very delicious! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank redrocklove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris East also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Morris East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing