We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant with some good gluten-free options”
Review of Morris East

Morris East
Ranked #42 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Unique and delicious wood fired pizza served in a warm and cozy environment. Choose from a variety of mouth watering toppings not found elsewhere or even vegetarian and gluten free options.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with some good gluten-free options”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place was very tasty, we were there for lunch on a Sunday, so we split a Big Breakfast Pizza on a gluten-free crust from the brunch menu. It was delicious, and our server was very helpful, even recommending different bakeries and restaurants that catered to the gluten-free audience. I loved the place and would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scootermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    87
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Place”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a small restaurant in downtown Halifax that serves delicious pizza, limited daily specials and interesting cocktails. One must have the pizza's which are delicious. It is not overly expensive and is worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sportguy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small pizza, big price.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The poached pear, blue cheese, and prosciutto pizza was very good, however I'm not convinced its worth $23 (with tax and tip) per 11 inch pizza. The mushroom pizza was ok and seemed very ordinary. For a pizza place, only 9 pizza options seems like slim pickings!

The place is tiny and loud! When we arrived the only seats available were at the bar so the hostess suggested we order drinks while we waited for 15 minutes. The hostess then told us we could not sit at the bar unless we also planned to eat at the bar. We preferred a table so were expected to stand in the doorway, with drinks, waiting for a table while the bar seats were unoccupied. We declined the drinks, got drinks elsewhere, and came back when they called our cellphone to say the table was ready.

Overall, it was expensive and ordinary. Our server was great, but I would try other places before returning to Morris East.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobster500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pizza was good”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The pizza certainly was very good however the price was a little high. The restaurant is small and gets crowded so going early is a good idea or expect to wait.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Micki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Me ad my husband went there with 3 other people. To start with the place is so tiny and everyone is squat together, pretty much sitting with strangers you are that close to each other. It was a warm day and they have no AC, it was very warm in there. The prices are outrageous for what you get. We had a pizza that was on a pita with a bit of sauce. Taste and looked like a Kraft pizza. The service was terrible, for some reason the server would keep leaving me and my husband out and asking the other 3 if they needed anything or what not and would not ask us. We ordered desert which was also disappointing. And my husband ordered coffee along with the other 3 people and they received theirs and she didn't give him one. Horrible place will never go back when visiting Halifax again and will let friends and family know about it too. Needless to say our server Amber did not get a tip!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dillonjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris East also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Morris East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing