We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Pizza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morris East

Morris East
Ranked #33 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unique and delicious wood fired pizza served in a warm and cozy environment. Choose from a variety of mouth watering toppings not found elsewhere or even vegetarian and gluten free options.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great little date spot, the pizza is to die for (way better then any other place in town), plus there is a nice selection of beer/wine.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank K207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    80
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Service - amazing. Our waitress was attentive, offered suggested and answered any questions. I wish I got her name.

Pizza - Ordered the Margarita Pizza and I will be honest, I've had better. The sauce was bland, the basil was ripped up and spread over the pizza (not too pretty) and the crust was soggy. When asked how my food was, I answered honestly. Right away I was offered a new pizza, but graciously declined. Our server still had a new pizza made and boxed up for us when we were leaving. You don't get service like that these days! Although I didn't enjoy my pizza, the service provided was outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeccaBee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A few lunches and one dinner date.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

A small restaurant, easy to miss if you aren't looking for it. Cool decor, attractive bar, exposed brick, mirror and a bright, bent, painted wallboard separating the kitchen from the dining room. Has an intimate atmosphere though not due to a lack of light. Something jazzy, not too loud, plays on the stereo. Clean and neat. Did not feel crowded, even when we were there for dinner. Lunches have never been busy when we went. Friendly, knowledgeable service. And most importantly, excellent food! Do not eat here if your taste buds do not appreciate flavor (like most of my kids). Delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank brucethesupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

(Dinner) My colleagues and I ordered 2 pizzas (Tandoori chicken and 3 Mongers) and the gnocchi special and each dish was amazing! The tandoori chicken pizza is unique and spectacular. Although we were too full to contemplate dessert, we were tempted by the homemade ice cream and tried three flavours - chocolate brownie, caramel baileys and sweet potato/marshmallow. All 3 were awesome but the sweet potato/marshmallow stood out as the winner. Will definitely come back next time I'm in Halifax.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GillandJuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wish I had one in my town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

While on a "taste of Halifax" walking tour for foodies, we had the pleasure of stopping in here for a taste of their amazing pizza. I would have loved to stay longer and try all of their deliciousness...! The owner has a way with favors. We sampled a pear and caramelized onion pizza that was fantastic. Small, cozy, would easily become a regular eatery if I lived in Halifax. This is one worth venturing out to try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theeshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris East also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Bedford, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Morris East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing