We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“multiple allergeries”
Review of The Wooden Monkey

The Wooden Monkey
Ranked #11 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
South
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“multiple allergeries”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This time I am traveling with 40 food allergies. I was able to have a really good meal Digby Scallops, Cauliflower and Fiddlehead Ferns prepared just for me. At a very reasonable price. It was just the next block from the Residence Inn on Grafton where I stayed May 2014.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feather_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    260
    88
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Selection”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place seems to have a slight hipster vibe. The service is great and the food is pretty good. The best part is the farm to table organic commitment that this eatery boasts. If you are environmentally conscious this is a great choice. I had a lamb burger that was very good. The roasties are amazing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love eating local”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Wooden Monkey has a great selection of dishes that make me feel like I've made a healthy choice! I've been here a couple times and keep wanting to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golfing gals love to eat.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our female golf team likes to get out once a month and try different restaurants. The Wooden Monkey at Alderney Landing, Dartmouth, made our list of nice restaurants. The ambiance was nice (evening), service was prompt and the food was really good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I Wish I Could Eat At A Place Like This More Often”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I loved the menu of natural/raw/organic foods. The vibe in the place is warm and relaxing. My servers were lovely. The food was excellent and the amount of food I was served was rather large. I only ate about half of what I ordered. I find that many restaurants that serve this type/quality of food often limit how much they give you which discourages some of my friends from wanting to eat at them so this is really a place to bring anyone, even big eaters. I will go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bargoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Monkey also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Wooden Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing