We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dartmouth location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wooden Monkey

The Wooden Monkey
Ranked #10 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dartmouth location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

new location in the Dartmouth Ferry terminal, fantastic view of the harbour and Halifax, great service and very interesting menu..... I had the meatless taco in a lettuce leaf wrap instead of a taco shell, I was very pleased and would order it again but would like to experience more of their many options.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nifort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    257
    86
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“local and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Local produce used. Restaurant is downtown and is within walking distance to theatre (Neptune), Citadel Hill and majority of hotels

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“food for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

this restaurant is located in an old |Halifax building and still has the charm and atmosphere of such. The staff are unbelievably friendly, so willing to tell a tale or two of who has eaten there... Ronnie Wood being one! Their menu is varied for vegan, vegetarian and fish lovers. The haddock was to die for!! the five us shared all our meals providing a chance to sample 5 different dishes. The haddock was the winner by far and I am fussy about how my fish is cooked! The chowder ( non dairy) was made in a tomato base and delicious! Mussels were gone far too quickly. The Curry Quinoa was a total favourite. The dessert fave description didn;t sound appetizing but when they brought one for all of us to share...WOW!!!! The salads were all amazing. For 5 of us, only 3 drinks, full meals , with salads came to 195.00.. cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizza13
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I LOVED the food. I would go again. The only thing other than horrible parking, was the the prices are a bit high.
They are very Vegan/Vegetarian friendly, but also have great fish and meat choices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

After hearing all the hype, I expected more, way more! 4 scallops on pasta for 25$ is overpriced. Drinks were way overpriced too, but delicious. Really expensive "french fries"

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Monkey also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Wooden Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing