We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tofu Pie is to die for!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wooden Monkey

The Wooden Monkey
Ranked #10 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tofu Pie is to die for!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have eaten here many times and have always enjoyed my meal, but the main reason I keep going back is for the Tofu Pie. It is AMAZING!!!!! Please don't be turned off the fact that it's tofu, you wouldn't even know. It reminds me of cheesecake, except without all the calories.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JetiJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    257
    86
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Meal in Halifax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spotted this on TripAdvisor when looking for an option for dinner in downtown Halifax. Visited on my own and had an organic vodka martini, the Japanese Dumplings, the Vegetable Curry along with a glass of Nova Scotian Pinot Grigio.

All was very tasty. Smooth martini but the vodka had a nice character. The dumplings themselves were a nice starter and the dipping sauce that came with them was exceptional. I was pleasantly surprised by the pinot grigio - a bit on the sweet side for me but that went well with the green curry of the vegetable curry. If I was super critical the quinoa was a bit over-cooked but that actually worked well in making it more delicate in structure so that it didn't over take the vegetables in texture.

The service was well-paced and friendly. They're clearly into their food and recommendations were respectful and just as friendly.

As a vegetarian I always enjoy finding restaurants who offer vegetarian options and put them on my must-visit list when the food is worth the trip. Wooden Monkey is on my must-visit list for trips to Halifax.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YXUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always a must-visit when in Halifax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Brilliant menu, eclectic, chill setting in downtown Halifax , with great service by staff who really know the menu, and believe in the Monkey's concept of providing healthy, organic, local, environmentally-conscious food. Try the roasted chickpea salad-its the very best chickpea salad I have ever tasted. Also recommend the seitan donair, lentil burger, rice bowl, pizza,veggie stir fry, veggie curry and sesame crusted haddock. Lots of gluten free, veg, and vegan options. You can even try organic cocktails, beer, wine! Go eat at The Monkey!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A Halifax favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

No trip to Halifax is complete with trip to The Wooden Monkey. It's a favourite among locals, and you'd do well to eat here on any trip to Halifax. It's a small, intimate restaurant with eclectic furniture with table set closely together. The menu is fresh, local and delicious. On the past visit, I had a superb sesame encrusted haddock - mouthwatering!
The staff is friendly and warm; be prepared to enjoy your dining experience. Top off your meal with the famous ice cream cookie sandwich!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h20andsunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Flies, musty smelling and messy!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was like walking into the kitchen of a person who hadn't cleaned up for a few days. There were a few customers there who seemed pretty wrapped up in their conversation and I had the impression it was a regular hangout for these folks. Not very inviting if you like clean and pristine surroundings, let alone healthy. House flies made this place their home, and the decor was worn and tacky to say the least- an awful place, certainly in such a cosmopolitan city.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Monkey also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Wooden Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing