We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like an old comfortable shoe!”

Tom's Little Havana Cafe
Ranked #154 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Description: We were the only cigar bar in Atlantic Canada from 1997 to 2006... then the world went non-smoking! We have continued on as a favorite in the city as a neighborhood style bar specializing in Craft Beers from Nova Scotia. Some of the best service in the city and a perennial winner of 'Best Place for a first Date in Halifax'!! Sunday nights are Trivia nights from 7:30 - 9:30. Also try 4 x 5oz craft beer flights for $7! Wednesdays are #wingsdays with Cajun and house wings cheap all day One of the best brunches in the city on Saturday and Sunday!
Halifax
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Like an old comfortable shoe!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is our favourite hideaway. A great place to meet old and new friends on a cold winter night or on the deck on a sunny afternoon. The food is always good and the service is always friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Green_Eyes_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
153 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food, decent service, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am from Halifax and frequent Tom's almost every week.

What's so special about Tom's is that it's tucked away, slightly off the beaten path and because of this, almost completely filled with locals. It's narrow space can only accommodate about 40 people, but it's the coziness of it that makes it so inviting and relaxing.

The food is pretty good - it will neither disappoint or blow your socks off. The sausage pizza is my favourite.

They have games to play if that's your thing - chess, backgammon, crib.

The daytime bartender is great and makes the best Ceasar in the city, but he only works days now. The new staff they hired for the evenings are not quite as on the ball as he is, so I suggest going during the day. He also has better taste in music!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripsalot_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Scotch lovers dream. When the only printed menu is a scotch menu you know you are going to have lots of great options. Cool vibe. Comfortable to hang out with friends for hours. Great location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lazy service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I will never go back to this spot again. Service was lazy and waited over 20 minutes for someone to come take our order before we ended up going to find the waitress to pay our bill on our drink and left. This was on Saturday night

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kuziwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
221 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unlikely find”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We were in town on business and saw this on trip advisor. Since it was Father's Day all of the upscale spots were full This was an unlikely spot from the outside and even inside with the towel covers on the tables but the food was good(slow) and the atmosphere grew on us. I like it and will return in the future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Little Havana Cafe also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Tom's Little Havana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing