We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the atmosphere, enjoy the food”

The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 720 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Parade & City Hall
Description: The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, is one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures dating back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat, game and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate. Enjoy a vast selection of fine wines and world- class cocktails.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere, enjoy the food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My third time here and never fails to please. I love the atmosphere. Tried the steak tartar and found it a but bland. But the Atlantic cod was by far the best I've ever had...melted in my mouth. Great service too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryleegirl1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    151
    49
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great space. Food not so much”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have never been here but heard so much about it we figured it would be a super dinner spot. We arrived to meet friends here and were seated in a nice sectioned off room in the back of the resturant. It is a wonderful space that just screams history. The building is an old structure that is restored beautifully. Stone walls and lots of wood and beams exposed. While here it makes you think about how old Halifax really is. Friends from Toronto were disappointed that the restaurant was out of mussles and cod. To be fair it was the end of a long weekend so we found other tasty entrees. Although the same steak dish was ordered by three people and was cooked the same despite orders of rare, med and med rare. The wait staff were excellent though attentive and not obtrusive. We had a nice meal but the food was not super as some reviewers rave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Uninteresting food - uninterested waitress”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I were both disappointed with our meals - the cod was bland and the seafood pasta was quite tasteless. We would definitely not return to The Press Gang, despite the atmosphere in the wonderful old building.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful food. Warm welcome.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I've kept a note to return to this restaurant next time we find ourselves in Halifax. The food was very good; scallops sautéed until just done in the centre--so silky-- and the salmon simply presented and perfectly cooked. The service was attentive, warm and friendly. A lovely dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I ate here Wednesday nite August 28th-We were able to get a table right away even though the restaurant was very busy.I had the mango salad and a filet mignon for the entree-the steak was cooked perfectly medium rare-came with potato gratin-excellent meal-though do not believe the steak was a prime cut.Pricing was similar and competitive with other restaurants in the area of like caliber.The creme brulee could have been better but was still good-the ambience was very nice-good place for a romantic meal-did not feel rushed at all and service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing