We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oo la la!”

The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 732 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Parade & City Hall
Description: The Press Gang, located in the heart of downtown Halifax, is one of the city’s oldest historic stone structures dating back to 1759. Boasting a formal dining experience like no other in the city, The Press Gang features an extensive menu with a rich array of exquisite seafood, meat, game and poultry dishes to satisfy every palate. Enjoy a vast selection of fine wines and world- class cocktails.
Teslin, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“oo la la!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I read the review in Tripadvisor & decided I wanted to have one really good seafood dinner in Halifax. other than fish & chips.
I'm sure glad I went here!
Went early at 5 pm & we had the entire restaurant to ourselves!
So the service was fast & friendly. She also was very knowledgable & gave us a brief history of the building. Apparently one of the oldest original buildings in Halifax.
I had the baked oysters & then the Seafood Lagangnette.
All I can say is it was the best I ever had!!!
It was pricey but more than worth it!!! :)

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    152
    49
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth every cent!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Press Gang was an awesome experience and we fully intend to go back.

The atmosphere is warm and cozy in the historic property. Our Server was perfect! She was super friendly, attentive and professional.

We started with Martinis and were impressed when the bartender sent us a sample of the PEI Vodka to ensure we would like it. Nice touch. For dinner, we chose "The Drill" and highly recommend it. It was an opportunity to taste all that the Chef could express. Wine selection and prices are in line with this sort of restaurant.

We had allot of fun and enjoyed every second! Can't really elaborate further since we have no negative feedback.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UberDINKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Had an amazing time there, food was delicious and service, outstanding. The venue is beautiful and cucumber martinis are heaven like! Definitely worth every penny!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lunesouslesoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellowknife
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Post wedding meal, out of this world!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had 6 close friends out to eat with us after our wedding here. We decided to have "the drill" which was about 75$ each for a 5 course meal (more like 20 courses, because each course had 3 mini sections to it). The drill is whatever the chefs feel is fresh or in season. The only choice we had to make was how we wanted the "meat" done. After this, we ordered our wines and waited for the courses with much anticipation since we had no idea what was coming. Let's just say this, one of our friends stated, "This was the best meal of my life!" The flavours were so complex and varied. My favourite was, surprisingly, the mushroom ravioli ( I could have eaten a whole plate of this and I'm not even a mushroom fan). We had seafood to start with scallops, mussels and tuna followed by salads then elk, lamb and flank steak prepared just perfectly! The tiramisu cheesecake was divine. I'll definitely eat here again when I return to Halifax, although probably only for special occasions because of the price.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank novacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“We've joined the Gang!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We celebrated an 80th birthday here - a first-time experience for us. Great atmosphere - the live piano was slightly over-amplified, but our waitress fixed that small detail right away...we all sampled different items that were tasty and well-presented. The service was quite slow, but the place was full and our reservation was at prime time, so we sat back and savoured the evening. The Press Gang is now on our "go to" list.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Press Gang Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing