We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to sing!”

The Old Triangle Irish Ale House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Triangle Irish Ale House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Description: The Old Triangle is an Irish family owned traditional Irish pub established in 2000. We feature an extensive menu of hand crafted Irish & Maritime dishes, 22 taps of local and international brews and an excellent selection of wines, hand picked by our in house sommelier. We feature live music 7 nights a week, matinees on Saturday, Irish dancing and live sessions Sunday afternoons. Our upstairs Seanchai (pronounced shan-a-kee) has Quiz Night on Tuesdays and is also available for private events of up to 80 guests. We are proud to have the finest, friendliest staff in the city, a beautiful summer patio and a warm welcome for all who enter.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Be prepared to sing!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fantastic Live Irish music with all kinds of ales. Fun time for all who enjoy singing long. We really enjoyed visiting during our stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    430
    84
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Irish Pub's”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visit the Old Triangle where the food is good (the Nachos are very good!), the beer is cold, the staff is friendly and the music is always lively and there is no cover charge =)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“It's easy to have a good time here”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We decided to come here after dinner to listen to some live music and to share some beers. We had a good time. The music (and singing) was very entertaining. the night we were in Halifax we were looking for some sort of 'kitchen party' or jam session and the music the night we were here was close enough. Sort of.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just plain fun!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent an evening with other tourists we met for dinner and celtic music here. The food was down-home satisfying and the toe-tapping music had the crowd buzzing. Great place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It's a classic pub. The food is good and the menu had lots to offer...even included vegan, vegetarian and gluten free options. They have a great beer selection as you'd expect and the live music was nice. My only complaint was around the staff. It was a busy night, but my server struggled to even be pleasant which is unfortunate.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnCarlos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Triangle Irish Ale House also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Old Triangle Irish Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing