We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best Irish Pub in Halifax”

The Old Triangle Irish Ale House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Triangle Irish Ale House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always the best Irish Pub in Halifax”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

No visit to Halifax is complete without a visit to the Triangle. Often has Irish music as entertainment. Always packed and hard to get a seat at busy times. One of the few pubs in North America with real "snugs" in the back. The Guinness always seems fresh and the service is always friendly. Food is OK but that isn't why one would go there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastJohn&Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    417
    83
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a must try”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We always go to the triangle when in halifax. Great patio on the sidewalk. Good food and service. The corned beef sandwich on pretzel bread was fantastic

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Irish Bar in Halifax”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is not a chain and not at all pretentious. We assumed the owner was from the North of Ireland - given the memorabilia but he was not present when we visited and the staff confirmed he was Irish but did not know where he was from. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the food pub fare but very good. We both had curry chicken on chips (a traditional Irish favourite :)) and this was great. There was a singer playing and he was great - he is from Dartmouth - we met him and his wife a few days later - small place Halifax. The music and the craic were great. Only issue was our server who was a bit glum but overall the experience was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lively and consistant”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

first time in we just dropped in because it was open. atmosphere: good, food is consistent and good, service is good, folks are friendly, families welcome and close to waterfront, easy walking distance from many halifax hotels.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place was packed on a week night with locals and tourists. The food is unique and varied. Lots of healthy choices. Our waitress was friendly and helpful making suggestions on local brews and even suggesting that I not order what I was thinking and suggested something else. I appreciate honesty like that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bjcTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Triangle Irish Ale House also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Old Triangle Irish Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing