We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are we in Japan?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Shige Japanese Restaurant

Sushi Shige Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Are we in Japan?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I eat sushi 2 times minimum per week, and this place has hit the top of my list.

In summary, this is as close as I have seen to Japan (went their 2 years ago) in eastern canada. Chef also allows you to make changes to the dishes (ex. changed the dragon roll to include bluefin tuna versus unagi: since had that the other day).

Nothing fancy in terms of rolls, but expect quality and freshness. The Chef here is one of the best in Canada.

Will return each time in Halifax

Note: I guess you can preorder Lobster sashimi, which I hear is amazing... next time!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hungre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best sushi of all Halifax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've been to many sushi place in Halifax, and so far, this is the best place for their sashimi and nigiri.

You must try their Sea urchin when they get it in season. Very friendly atmosphere, lovely staff!
Not too expensive and great menu!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't judge the food by the location-the food is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The freshest sushi around. Not as expensive as Hamachi, and just as good. Good home cooking style.

This place is tucked away next to TAO Outfitters on Granville. Just the best food. Must have eaten there 6 times in July and August.

The decor and location are deceiving. Don't judge the food by the location. It's clean, and the sushi chef is the owner. If you order in advance, he'll do you up a whole cod, if you're trying to impress or if you like fish served with style. But can't say enough about the quality of the food- simply the best. Simple, Japanese cooked food is great!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SleeplessinNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent japanese dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent dinner with sushi, sashimi, teriyaki and tempura. Everything was very fresh and nicely prepared. The interior of the restaurant was rather simple, typical for japanese restaurants I visited in Tokyo. A strong recommendation for this place!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tobias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best traditional sushi on the east coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The chef is an amazing one with decades of experience. If you are looking for delicious, authentic japanese cuisine, look no more. This is the place. I highly recommend letting the chef decide what you eat by choosing omakase.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JP R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Shige Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Sushi Shige Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing