We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”

Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill
Ranked #49 of 720 Restaurants in Halifax
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went here because we had a coupon - buy one, get one free. The food was good - fish and chips with the fish being very fresh and the chips not at all greasy. Service was a bit slow but the place was very busy. I walk by often in the summer and it is pretty much always very busy so be patient.

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    146
    59
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hubby and I went to Stayners again on Valentine's Day. We have been there umpteen times before, and I've never been disappointed. The location is ideal, offering a view over the harbour with Theodore Tugboat smiling at you as you eat! On this occasion, hubby had the chicken parm, which was a generous piece of chicken smothered in sauce and cheese served over linguini; according to him, it was delicious. I had the panfried haddock, which as others have mentioned is excellent. My only minor complaint this time was that the taste of the whipped sweet potato was completely masked by an over-abundance of salt that rendered it inedible. However, I won't deduct a star just for this because on the many other occasions I've had it, it's been great. Unfortunately, we didn't have space for dessert.
The staff are friendly and the place has a nice ambience. You really can't go wrong if you decide to eat at Stayners.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornish24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Level Contributor
173 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant with great location and atmoshpere”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We love NS and visit Halifax every couple of years. There are so many great places to eat by the waterfront, some more fancy, but Stayner's is one of our "must stops". It's nice, good food with a great view and we love to sit outside in the summer. You have to try the pan fried haddock! And with a cold Keith's... Yum!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DogfaceJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Louisianian”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I must confess, I order the exact same thing every time I go to Stayner's. They are the only place that makes this chicken dish. It has beans, rice, spinach, corn meal breaded chicken and it's got a heat to it, that makes me so happy! It is consistent, never too hot, or bland, always made the exact same way. Their menu is small, so I don't mind sticking to the same thing. I think because of the small menu, they can stay consistent with each dish, and each dish is delicious (I did try a few others before I settled on the Louisianan). This place almost always needs a reservation or you'll be waiting at the bar. No worries, though, the staff is efficient (and I recognize that most of them have worked there over the years, so they have loyalty--that bodes well with me. They must treat their employees well). I love this place. I've also been for their jazz. Great venue, food is delicious. One of my top 5 places to eat out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pureoaknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Always an amazing experience, try the panfried haddock - its exquisite. As are the cocktails. Its reasonably priced and in a great setting

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing