We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but overpriced...”
Review of Onyx Wine Bar & Kitchen - CLOSED

Onyx Wine Bar & Kitchen
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Park Street
Description: Step in from Halifax's bustling Spring Garden Road and enter ONYX, an oasis of casual elegance. Sit at the back-lit white onyx bar and sip a mojito, crushed fruit, muddled fresh mint and rum. Or peruse the extensive Wine Spectator award-winning wine list with over 350 selections. ONYX, a big city feel, yet intimate. We offer inventive cuisine with professional service. It is an evening you'll remember. ONYX has received many accolades and awards in the short time we've been open. Here are just a few: A three Star Rating in "Where to Eat in Canada", one of only 29 restaurants in Canada to achieve this rating. A four diamond rating from AAA/CAA, one of the top ten new restaurants in Canada, a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence every year that we have been open.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but overpriced...”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The atmosphere attempts upscale and sophisticated, although a bit "10 years ago". The service is prompt and efficient, but not warm. The wine list is superb, but staff wine knowledge is light, for a restaurant of this pricepoint. The food is quite good, but not particularly inspired, and portion size is far too small, to the point of being mildly annoying.

Overall, it's pretty good, but a little arrogant, pretentious, and definitely overpriced. I'm glad we tried it, and we enjoyed ourselves, but nothing about it really warrants a return. In this pricerange, there are better choices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gandt_halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Superb food, exemplary service, we've always had good value and a very pleasant dining experience. We often go there when we have friends visit us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super ambiance and food!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was in Halifax for business and really enjoy the food and litlle Jazz trio also. Awesome experience, recommanded!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Small plates... an excellent meal”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We enjoyed a fine meal at Onyx. Monday evening was small plates and all the dishes that we sampled were excellent and with good sized portions or the prices. The Quebec cheese platter was wonderful but lacking bread, although they did bring more pita when asked. The salmon dish was excellent, light and lightly smoked flavour in a citrus sauce. The tuna was good, light in colour, likely Ahi. Overall we sampled 10 different dishes and all had above average grades. Onyx was a nice surprise for small plates dinner in Halifax on a Monday night when a number of restaurants in this city are closed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollie076, Guest Relations Manager at Onyx Wine Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We have actually switched to a Small Plates menu for every night of the week. We found that it makes for a unique dining experience - being able to sample several different dishes and share around the table. It seems that you "got it" and we hope you'll be back! Thanks for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Great wine and service....food not so much!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have always wanted to go to Onyx, I had heard mixed reviews but I still wanted to exprerience it. What a disappointment! The $19 glass of wine was excellent and I may return just to try it again but the dinner was aweful! I had the beef dish, it had four shaved slices of baby red potato and one lettuce leaf. The meat tasted great but could not chew the meat, the texture was tough, stringy. The menu was very disappointing........it took me forever to decide, nothing caught my eye so I went for the safe steak.....terrible. The server was amazing, very friendly, attentive and really wated to please us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx Wine Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing