We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sushi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minato Sushi Japanese Restaurant

Minato Sushi Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #194 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I ordered sushi to go and they were delicious !!!!! I ordered the Minato Maki (amazing) and the sweet potato maki and added avocado in it.. The taste was so fresh .. This has got to be the best sushi restaurant in Halifax! Definitely worth it :) will come back for sure next time I visit Halifax.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Best Japanese & Korean Food in Halifax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Sushi is always fresh & tasty! Korean dishes are by far the best in Halifax. My favorite place when I'm in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“BEST sushi I've had in Halifax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is my absolute favourite sushi restaurant. I would rather go here than Sushi Nami any day. I've been here twice and both times the sushi was so fresh and absolutely melt in your mouth delicious. It was the same server both times, it's a small restaurant so she was the only one working, but even though nearly all the tables were full, she was so speedy! We got our meal faster than we ever do as Sushi Nami, which has the slowest service ever. The sushi is reasonably priced, just the same as every other sushi restaurant we've been to, but the sushi itself was so much better. Try the alaska role, and for a vegetarian option, the sweet potato tempura role is to die for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good, nothing special but well priced and decent selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went there with 5 family members as we were looking for something to replace our old favorite Hamachi Kita (which has gone down hill drastically in service and food quality). Food was fresh and well prepared. Nothing out of the ordinary but better than most. Service was good but lacking enthusiasm. Some dishes like the Sushi Pizza was not prepared properly. Others lacked a quality about the preparation. The atmosphere is reflective of the cost, meaning basic basic basic. My son referred to it as "College Grade" meaning it was priced to attract the students which are prevalent in the area. All in all, we would go there again because the value was good and in particular if you are looking for a decent meal that will not break the bank.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TONYfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“good sushi, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2007

good sushi, slow service

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minato Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Minato Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing