We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good drinks and service, boring food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mexicali Rosa's

Mexicali Rosa's
Ranked #427 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mexi's is the destination for Mexican/Californian inspired cuisine in the HRM! With the rooftop patio and private party room this restaurant and bar allows you to enjoy ANY atmosphere you desire, whether you're looking to relax, have a romantic night out for 2 by the fireplace, get some work done, or celebrate a birthday and just have a good time, we can provide it all! So come sip on one of our famous margaritas and remember... we're not saving lives, we're just making tacos.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good drinks and service, boring food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The service was good although I think there were 3 different servers for our table. The drinks were the best part although there were not many choices on the menu. The food however was not that great. The Guac was bad, all onions, bland, no taste. The other food was ok but nothing special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    20
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It is what it is.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Hey, it's a busy pub. The food was fast, hot and above average. That's what we hoped for and it's what we got.
But I won't be taking my mum there for her birthday. Because it is what it is.

Helpful?
Thank britt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for Margarita Monday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I come here regularly in the summer for Margarita Monday. They have a great selection of different flavoured margaritas and on Mondays they are only $5 for a single or $6 for a double. You can't beat that price for a good margarita. On occasion I have ordered food here. It is decent food but definitely too expensive for what you get. I would recommend this place for drinks and an appetizer.

Helpful?
Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best fajitas and strawberry daiquiri's in halifax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I and now our 2 kids love going to Mexi's for their unbelievably delicious fajitas. They are soooo good! the other great items on the menu are the deep fried ice cream and strawberry daiquiri's. We always get these same things every time and are never dissapointed! Over the years they have changed owners and the quality was poor but now that they have been established for a while in the new location things are back to awesome!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kerrito111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food and service..A must see is Joe Murphy and the Water Street Blues Band..A guarantee to get the feet moving!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Rosa's also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Mexicali Rosa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing