We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmomsphere.”

McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes
Reserve with OpenTable
McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 712 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Cross street: Bedford Row and Prince
Toronto
Level Contributor
187 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food and atmomsphere.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Everything works. The service, the food. Pricey, but not over the top. We had a good time here. We didn't have a reservation but they worked us in and didn't rush us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HomerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    293
    106
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not too memorable”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Why not too memorable? Well, we just ate at this restaurant on October 18, and already I can't remember what I had to eat. All I remember is that it was nothing special. My wife had the seafood chowder which she enjoyed, but it was not one of the top three seafood chowders she had during our two week stay in Nova Scotia. But what I do remember is the Propeller Ale that was suggested to us. Yuck! This was like drinking a newly made beer with four Alka-Seltzers in it. It was way too "hoppy". I later learned, after describing the beer to a Halifax local, that this was a mirco-brew that is pushed by several local restaurants. It is not one I would recommend to anyone. I couldn't even drink it. Service... rather slow and not very helpful. The waitress never even asked about whether or not I liked the brew...even after the ale was unfinished at the end of the meal. So I would have to say, for the money spent, this experience was disappointing. The atmosphere is very nice, but I feel the staff is depending on ambiance to get them through some mediocre dishes, relatively high prices, and somewhat lackluster service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As Usual a Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We try to eat at McKelvie's at least once per visit to Halifax. Wonderful food. Great Service. It's a little expensive but worth the money. A great example of Atlantic Canada cuisine. A must try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KTP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Among the best restaurants in Halifax.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was most excellentand the service relaxed and efficient. The ambiance is a combination of old and new. The large old fire station windows/doors are very unique. We had wine, main course and dessert for about $120. Good value all round. Make it one of the restaurants you visit while in Halifax.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thought we found a great seafood restaurant”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

In Halifax for the weekend. Couldn't get into The Press Gang or The Bicycle Thief, so we decided to follow reviews of McKelvie's and reserve. Lound and brash atmosphere was the first hint of the meal to come. Wines on the list were overpriced (Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc 57$!) and the bread served was a basket of raisin bread.
Before ordering our main courses, we shared a few appetizers: Overly cheesy, salty, and tasteless Oysters Rockefeller, mystery seafood crab cakes, and an unimaginitive fish taco. Sorry to dissappoint, but this fish smells like a tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing