We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of Hamachi House - CLOSED

Hamachi House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Kind of tucked away in a little underground like location, food and service were ok but nothing fantastic. Prices seem reasonable but you don't get much so it adds up fast. Bar needs some work - they didnt have 3 of the first 4 drinks we ordered even though they were on the menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmv1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    20
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice appertizers and friendly service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We sat down for drinks and appetizers at the Hamachi Steakhouse as we watched the sun set around the harbour. Though slightly pricey, the appetizer was pretty good. The restaurant is located along the Harbour front Boardwalk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“East Coast Sushi in Heavenly Halifax”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We read the reviews later but took a chance based on the menu listed at the front door. This spot is only one of their many Halifax locations. I found this all out later, as well.
We were greeted by a welcoming host. We choose to sit at the sushi bar. This is not a large establishment. It's comfortable and user friendly. As we were debating the types of rolls to order even the chef gave us some guidance.The evening was full of East Coast hospitality and charm. I was with my teen daughter who was happy, happy, happy. The rest of the clientele was varied. Couples. Families with small children. Folks in for take out. All were welcome.
We had a great meal. The menu is full of original and unique items that they created.So, it's fun and new. Everything was fresh and delicious.."Holy Dynamite" was a blast.
We went back for sushi pizza before we left town. Did not disappoint. I think this will be a place we return to time after time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hamachi House”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff at Hamachi House are wonderful - helpful, knowledgeable, and great artists of sushi. The Hamachi House is nearby to the waterfront, parks, and Halifax Citadel attractions. The Dragon Roll and The Killer Bee are both great entrees. All around a solid restaurant!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCMaslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Japanese - Western Fusion That Works!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here at the location on the boardwalk in Halifax. She had a halibut dish, which was good though the halibut was a bit overcooked. I had a sashimi plate that was truly excellent - very fresh and very well prepared. The service was fine, the location on the waterfront is lovely, and the environment was comfortable. A good experience overall and well worth trying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamachi House also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing