We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Cosy Atmosphere”
Review of Fireside

Fireside
Ranked #261 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Description: For over 20 years, Halifax's place for casual dining in a cozy, intimate atmosphere has been The Fireside, just off the shopping district of Spring Garden Road. Well known for its Martini Mondays, the Fireside is a place to gather with friends to enjoy a cocktail, munch on a variety of tasty appetizers or sit down to a full meal in comfortable surroundings. At The Fireside, the food is delicious, the drinks are imaginative and the service is impeccable. You'll find the prices are reasonable, the choices are plentiful and you and your guests will never feel hurried. Out new location is bright and inviting featuring local art and mid-century modern décor. This is Halifax's home of modern comfort food!
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Food and Cosy Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Fireside is a GREAT place to go for a tasty meal and some ambiance. The staff are attentive and the menu has something for everyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    61
    25
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rushed Service and University level food.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food was only okay. Avoid the spinach salad as the dressing is horrible and looks like processed cheese liquid. Service was almost frantic. This is a university pub at best and not a great one at that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daze1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“another perfect meal”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were about a group of 16 celebrating a co workers 40th birthday.
Everyone enjoyed their meal and there was not one bad comment about any of the food. well done to the Chef!
Kurt who is the chef adapted a meal to suit my allergies and perpared the perfect medium rare steak.
Service was excellent but was a liitle slow when it came giving our bills however, we were a large group and some people left early. I think the waiter was just not trying to rush us.
The Kutchen cake with rasberries on it is right from heaven.......absolutely delicious............highly recommend this place. All the staff are awesome and greet you warming when you arrive.
Great place! We will plan our next function there for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjejermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great drinks, great atmosphere, great time”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Simply this, if you're looking for a great atmosphere to have great conversation over martinis and appys then this is the place. Fireside is one of my no-fail staples.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyGuyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“1st visit but won't be my last”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was there for a retirement party. Food was very good, Kurt the chef made sure my meal was made to accomadate my food allergies. Fried beet and sweet potatoe chips are incredible. Tenderloin is moist tender and done to perfection......veggies were a little over steamed but still good........the only reason I would not give them 5/5 is for their fries, they are not hand cut, they are frozen.........service is great........the restaurant itself is cozy and quaint.......I will for sure go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjejermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Fireside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing