We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Argyle Bar & Grill

Argyle Bar & Grill
Ranked #323 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Prospect, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I ate dinner here for a friend's birthday. We were greeted right way and seated. Our waitress was helpful. I ordered the "everything burger" and it was absolutely MASSIVE. Would highly recommend it, one of the best burgers I've ever had. No complaints about this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    42
    30
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently disappointing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've been to the Argyle on several occasions, each time hoping that it'll be better and each time ending up unhappy with my decision to go. The biggest issue I've noticed is the slow service; servers are slow to greet anyone who has just arrived and take orders, and the food takes an extraordinary amount of time to arrive at the table, regardless of how busy the restaurant is. For the average quality food that this restaurant produces, it's not worth my time or money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_celo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had lunch at the Argyle today and was severely disappointed in the food I had. The menu has a lot of options (all very pub style), and I settled on a chicken club sandwich with fries. The chicken was cold, and it was hardly good pub quality (something I could have easily prepared at home). I went with fries for a side, and they were shoestring, frozen french fries flash fried in grease (also cold). They did provide a lot of fries, although I left the vast majority of them on my plate because they weren't very good. I only ate 1/2 of half of the sandwich because it was cold and rather tasteless. I won't go back to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food, atmosphere and location - everything was good.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Argyle Grill served good food, plenty of it with great service and sitting outdoors on a sunny day made it a perfect spot for lunch. The menu was pretty average but solid. It was really busy but everyone around us seemed to enjoy their lunch as much as we did.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Argyle”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My partner and I go there all the time. The service is terrific. Food is fine, good value, and we really like the fact that there are vegetarian options -- we ususally start by sharing the mediterranean platter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poneill243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argyle Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Argyle Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing