We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good; but I've had better”

Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria
Ranked #54 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
“Very good; but I've had better”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had the carne (meat) pizza; and it was very good; but there is better out there. It was crazy hot in the eating area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    51
    12
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Probably best in Halifax... but doesn't say much”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Really good pizza. Enjoyed it....and probably would rank mid-range in Toronto or Montreal. It is, however, the best, that Halifax can offer. Service was only so-so. The things that suck about Salvatore's: no parking, crap location, small restaurant and over-priced.

I will buy pizza here as most pizza in Halifax is poor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrekman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We got take out and glad we did because, albeit very quaint and cute, the restaurant is teeny tiny and would not have held 4 adults and 2 toddlers. That being said, we ordered the 'Original' and 'Rodger' and both were outstanding. We heard about this place from the show "You Gotta Eat Here" and it certainly did not disappoint!! If we lived in Halifax, we would definitely be regulars!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They don't mess with a good thing here.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The place is tiny and humble, but the pizzas are anything but. The Lombardia, with its poppy-seed crust and flavourful sundried tomatoes is one of the best pizzas I've ever had, anywhere. Thin, chewy crust and just the right amount of toppings. Service is excellent too. Only wish there was more seating, but that's why God made pizza so portable. Get take-out and sit in the park!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmacalpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Over priced for the cardboard you receive. Thin and crispy should not require one to chew the base. This was a delivery we got and had heard rave reviews about this place... Halifax need some Italians to show them how its done...even Dominos would have better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashcoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing