We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no wine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria

Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria
Ranked #52 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“no wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The pizza is good, but it just seems odd, to eat authentic style pizza, without a nice glass of red wine to accompany it. :( I am just 'wining'.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OLIVEOILADDICT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    50
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pizza at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We tried two of the pizzas I the mushroom and garlic which was great but have to say I love the thin crust plain cheese pizza - simple and delightful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WCSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birgu (Vittoriosa), Malta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great take-away Pizza, including Vegan style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I am a plant-only eater and so appreciate it when businesses cater for that. Salvatore's pizza is not only good, at value for money prices, but has The Roger which is one of the mmmmmmVegan style pizza. It is also in the HydroStone area of Halifax with other neat places around and a park across the street where you can peacefully enjoy their offerings. This is a super busy place (guess why ???) and so delivery times are long...but they tell you that and give a reliable estimate of when your order will be ready and delivered. The option is yours of course, to collect it or have it delivered and await further additional time for delivery. I am a repeat and satisfied .customer

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iMacAdamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good take-out pizza....and great cannoli!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Salvatore's is great for take-out pizza....it's never too long a wait and we have always enjoyed it. Very reasonably priced and make sure to get a couple of their fresh cannoli for dessert!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 78review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Artisan Pizza in Halifax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

One of our travel companions was Salvatore's on the Food Network's "You Gotta Eat Here!" and so off we went. First the location; Hydrostone in Halifax first clue to gonna be good. Second, small specific menu; do what you do best, drop the rest. No donairs; love a good Donair but this was not the time. Small intimate seating; atmosphere. Hip and cool staff; looked like an bunch of Fine Arts guys...artists(?).
Of the four pizzas we ordered all we fantastic! There was a bit of a wait but art does take time...I had the Sicilian...O-M-Goodness...sooooo good. This is NOT Pizza-Pizza, Robert's, KOD or Jessy's (good Hali 'za joints) so put on your real food caps and don't thinking this is a 6-beer wheel or a HNIC snack. This pizza needs to be savoured and appreciated.
One of the group ordered Canoli and said it was superb.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Salvatore's Pizzaiolo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing