We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to go for lunch.”

Great Wall Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 711 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to go for lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Great Wall is an excellent place to go for lunch. The food is delicious, the service is fast and the prices are great value for money. . The staff is also very friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    66
    24
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Centrally and conveniently located for visitors and business diners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Great Wall Restaurant is a basic Chinese restaurant. Basic, but nicely done decor, friendly staff, reasonable service, convenient location and open a good range of hours.

Sadly, I thought prices were quite high for the small portions. Food though was good and hot, nothing spectacular in flavour, but decent "hit the spot" fare all the same.

Tip:
If given a menu that is only in English, with no Chinese characters, politely ask to see the "Chinese menu". You'll still be reading English but the selection is much more extensive!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“our 'go to' place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My co-workers and I eat here frequently. The staff is friendly, the food is plentiful and the prices are very reasonable. The service is fast and there is a take out option too. Patrick (owner) quickly fills your glass with ice water and is always around making sure you are topped up. There's no expectation to order a drink, most people just have the water. Other restaurants make you feel guilty if all you drink is water, but not here. This is a very comfortable place to eat and we look forward to many more meals here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Fast service, great prices, good food, and great take out for dinner on the run. Often get their lunches at its convenient spot downtown and like their choices for take out dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fair at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I ate at the Great Wall last Sunday eve. We had shrimp fried rice ( poor quality ) and deep fried shrimp( fair at best). The service was poor ( did not come to our table once during the meal) and they did not have any coffee brewing after our meal. The good quality was not great and the overall atmosphere in the place was cheap. We also had a hard time getting a parking spot in the area as the restaurant is in the heart of Halifax warf area

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Great Wall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing