We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good”
Review of The Bicycle Thief

The Bicycle Thief
Ranked #6 of 715 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have always had a good experience here. The risotto features are always a great choice. The view of the harbour is nice, and they have a heated patio area (they will also provides shoals). I find that the tables can make you feel a bit close to neighbouring tables, but the ambiance, food and drink are fantastic. Attention to detail is in their execution and the staff seem to try to please the customer as best as possible. One minor slip up when we visited last - it was a friend's birthday and they brought him out a dessert he had not order (gelato if I recall correctly), but added the cost of the gelato to his bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo_Traveler_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    600
    174
    72
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and great ambiance”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of my favorite home town restaurants. Always consistent and atmosphere is great. Sometimes a little loud, but it's what you would expect in a popular Italian place close to the waterfront.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kleaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great (though loud) ambiance”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of my favorites in Halifax. Classy atmosphere, but not pretentous.

Good Northern Italian food....some gripe about small servings, but I think they are just right.

Great wine slection and lovely bathrooms...what more could you ask for?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Halifax right now”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Love this restaurant. Best food in Halifax right now. I eat here about twice a year. Great food, beautiful ambience, nice wine list, excellent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabethmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Some of the most delicious and best-prepared food in Halifax. Restaurant is a bit crowded, with tables close together, and always packed, which is a testament to just how good this restaurant is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relaxedinNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bicycle Thief also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Bicycle Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing