We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unremarkable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bicycle Thief

The Bicycle Thief
Ranked #6 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unremarkable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Last night was the second time I have taken and out of town guest to The Bicycle Thief and was disappointed. The decision to go there has been based on my guest getting the recommendation, usually from their hotel or other word of mouth... so, we go.... The location and the atmosphere is great. But our service and food, sadly, unremarkable :( So much potential, lost.

My friend and I each had starter and entrees. My crab cake (singular) was mushy but tasted fine, not exceptional. And my risotto, over cooked and while not unpleasant, lacked favor, definition and depth. I am not a fabulous cook and even I know risotto is easy!... Butter, some strong cheese, salt and you're done! So, that it was poorly done was unfortunate.

I really want to like the Bicycle Thief. But will be reluctant to to take out of town guest there if I want them to have a good food experience.... maybe I'll just make sure I talk up the view and lower any food expectations :(

.... Sorry Bicycle Thief :(

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    583
    171
    72
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Minas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“How many positive adjectives are there?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

EXCELLENT!!, EXCELLENT!!, EXCELLENT!!

The food is incredible, the staff are amazing, the atmosphere is spectacular, and the location with view are second to none. My wife and I stumbled upon The Bicycle Thief on a whim and were thoroughly surprised. Their portions were great with more than fair pricing for the quality and experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tojoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a gift certificate to use up so decided to go to the Bicycle Thief.
I am pretty sure the restaurant is always busy, but this was a Saturday night 7pm reservation.
The restaurant is very full, with tables close together, so it is rather loud.not the place for a romantic or intimate dinner.
The service was great. First courses were good calamari, and the seared scallops.
We decided to share a second course, the gnocchi it was superb !
Our mains were , rack of lamb , and the sliced beef tenderloin. The lamb was very good the beef
Was cooked perfectly but I found the rub/seasoning was a bit salty for my taste.
Desserts were also excellent, the caramel cake, and the carrot cake.
I didn't find the food overpriced for the class of restaurant and comparing it to other cities.
But just realize it is not an intimate place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my favourite restaurant. The food is delicious and the staff is very attentive. The ambiance is lovely and the view on the patio in the summer is great! Love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulips300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape breton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had heard so much about this place! We were so disappointed. The room was so loud and noisy that the background music sounded like radio with static. The portions ranged from small to tiny. The carpaccio was over_dressed. My pappardelle was barely edible. My husband's lamb was good but the artfully arranged plate looked like a baby meal. My son was disappointed in the rabbit. I will say the butterscotch cake was superb and the service attentive. The experience was overpriced. We would not go back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Swiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bicycle Thief also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Bicycle Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing