We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed at the Chocolate Lake Hotel for two nights in January 2010 and it was fantastic. So clean, the staff and I mean all the staff went above and beyond to help with anything possible. Very clean and the beds were oh my god. Cocoa the chocolate lab was a really nice treat, we are dog lovers so this was an added bonus. We will be staying again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2009

Stayed 1 night and would recommend this hotel. Nothing fancy, but my mother and I were pleasantly surprised by the lake view from our room and the friendly staff. Very quiet location.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenOfTheRoad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel was great. The view of the lake is incredible and the rooms are renovated, super clean, and feel luxurious. The bed covering is a lovely comforter with a clean white soft cover - beats an icky quilted bedspread. They have free internet and wifi and you can use their printer for no charge - we were able to print directions for our week-long stay in the NS area. The only downside is that breakfast is not included, so we had a lovely, albeit a little pricey, breakfast in their dining room, which is cozy, clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the lake. They have a sweet chocolate lab named Coco who greets guests and the service is impeccable. They call your room a couple hours after you check in to make sure everything is satisfactory. All the front desk staff members are professional, courteous and personable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotiaFromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel twice and have enjoyed my stay each time. Both Chocolate Lake and the hotel are special places in Halifax! If you have already visited their website, I'm sure the charm of the lake and the dog Cocoa. Their photos are far better than mine, but I uploaded some to show they are in fact nice rooms as described on their own website.

My only advise is to call ahead to confirm you want a Lake view, and to see which amenities are not available. You can also ask about the construction status if that is of a concern to you. Otherwise Chocolate Lake should be a delight for most, except those who are afraid of water and/or dogs.

The room included:
- 1 queenbed, night tables
- TV
- Entertainment/storage unit with mini fridge
- Desk and chair
- full bathroom with bathtub

LOCATION
As you can guess by the name, it is located on a very popular and beautiful local swimming lake. In the summer it is warm enough to swim in and it is very clean.

The hotel is to the West of the actual core, but it is It is located a short drive, cycle, or transit ride to the downtown area and harbour.

AMENITIES
The lake is the best amenity, however there are so many more. The hotel décor is appealing, as are the rooms. The hotel is decorated with modern art and classic contemporary styles. Cocoa is a nice touch for those who like dogs. This hotel also allows pets to stay as guests.


PARKING
Free parking on the grounds of the hotel. While I was there, the front was off limits as they were resurfacing.

CLEANLINESS
The lobby, rooms, and hallways were always kept clean.

SERVICE
Excellent. Staff was always friendly and helpful, and check-in and out were smooth.

OVERALL
I really enjoy staying at Chocolate Lake and will on Future trips to Halifax. I find the hotel is laid back but maintains high levels of service and standards. The only negative thing is this hotel has been under construction/renovation for well over two years. I'm hoping things will be wrapped up by next year!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastadutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Fitness and pool areas were not ready during our stay, otherwise renos are comfortable and modern, staff were great in processing a gift card for the stay, all in all significantly better than we expected from a Best Western hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TO-Traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Pros:
We had a nice room on the top floor with flat screen tv, tasteful decor, king size bed and a nice view on the little lake.
Very comfy lobby. Nice decor in general in the hotel.
Computers available 24 hours a day.
The chocolate lab is pretty cute.

Cons:
A bit on the pricey side for a place with no breakfast included.
Not convenient if you don't have a car. The airport ride was a lot more expensive and shuttles don't go to this location.
Friends we were traveling with were on the 4th floor and said their room, unlike ours, hadn't been renovated.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaspezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

While the hotel is undergoing some renovations, there may be some noise associated with it. However, we did not have any problems with that, only with throbbing music from a Saturday night wedding.

The room was awesome! The beds are new and super comfortable, the TV is a new LCD model, the view of the lake is great. The bathroom is a bit tight, but was newly refurbished and showed it. Even the towels were the best (thick and plush) we encountered on a two-week Canadian trip!

Service in the restaurant was fast and pleasant and the breakfast menu included all the usual items, and then some.

This hotel was a bit costly and was away from the center of the city, but allowed easy access to the highways and routes to other places.

Cocoa, a chocolate lab belonging to the property greets all guests with a friendly wag of the tail but doesn't interfere with guests or other dogs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
257 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $100 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing