We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family outing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Canada
1 review
“Family outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed one night while on March Break. Our 7 and 9 year old boys enjoyed the stay very much. They had fun in the pool and hot tub and were happy to have wifi for their ipods. Overall it was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Grant R and thank you for choosing Chocolate Lake Hotel to kick off your March Break. Perhaps I could interest you in a good start to Easter Vacation as well, which is just a few weeks away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    438
    111
    36
    25
See reviews for
398
420
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

As HMCS Sackville (the last of the flower class corvettes of WW2) one of the first functions held off the ship, as the OPI for the Valentine's Day Party we had a wonderful experience.
The venue was perfect for our event. First impression was great, Cocoa-the hotel dog greeted us at the door & again later made an appearance at the party. The front desk staff were efficient in taking care of our needs at check in and check out, the Lakeview Ballroom where we held our dinner was set up beautiful, we enjoyed having the patio with the view for such an occasion. We had several guest rooms booked for the event, and found the rooms to be exceptionally clean and comfortable, many enjoyed the view of chocolate lake the next morning. Myself & my wife had one of the suites, perfect room for hosting a few guests before the dinner. The buffet, homemade lasagna received many great comments, thanks to Merrill the sous chef working, Kim Byrne who was the function floor manager that night, & Jenn our bartender for a great evening enjoyed by all. Breakfast the next morning was great, set up of the buffet in a separate room makes for a quicker breakfast line and less congestion, was happy with the variety of the buffet, would have like to see bacon and boiled eggs but otherwise food and service was great.
For a non-profit organization, we were delighted with the overall budget for the venue, therefore we hope to return next year for the same event.

Room Tip: Something you need to experience yourself to understand my review, the Lakeview rooms are what I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Th0mas_K181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
WOW. Thank you Th0mas_K181. You have painted a wonderful picture of your experience and we look forward to hosting you and your shipmates in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful experience with helpful, friendly staff, delicious food and inviting, cofortable surroundings Will definitely be coming back I cant understand though why you have to have a minimum of 200 characters, almost didn't post this because of that :(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Valerie B and thank you for your great review. I, as well, do not understand the 200 characters minimum, but would suggest for next time a simple, "Great Stay" followed by 198 explanation marks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Honestly, I always thought the best western hotels were just for the "travelling on a budget" type and only stayed in their hotels while in high school on sports trips.

This hotel is located within walking distance of the building I meet at while on business in Halifax so when my regular hotels were booked I took a chance, expecting very little. What a surprise.

Honestly, I have stayed in all the "high end" hotels in the icy and they all have one thing in common...they're pricey. This hotel is just as nice, has equal or better service and is a fraction of the cost.

This will be my hotel of choice from this point forward.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Jamie M and thank you for sharing your experience. As someone who used to work at one of those "high end" city hotels, I couldn't agree with you more! We have it all at Chocolate Lake, for much less.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Located on a pretty lake in a residential area, there is a "tower" and a main section. We stayed five nights and the first night we could hear a child yelling in the next room for a brief time. Otherwise, the hotel was quiet - no traffic or industrial noise.

The room was clean but the bathroom had old splatter marks on some of the walls, although the fixtures, etc, were clean.

We were able to open the bedroom window for fresh air.

The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. The complimentary breakfast was standard.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. We really liked Coco, the chocolate lab that greets guests and happily tolerates pats and hugs.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Ann S and thank you for letting us know about the splatters. We are on it!
Glad you enjoyed Cocoa, she definitely loves her hugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Recently picked Chocolate lake Best Western to try out as Halifax hotel. It was excellent, our room was very clean with new furniture and comfy beds, and large in size, a nice look out over the lake and halifax itself. Pool was clean and warm as was the hottub. Enjoyed the breakfast in a large bright dining room. I would definitely go back here to stay again. Value was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank You Heather F, we love to hear such positive feedback and we can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great place to stay. Close to shopping and the historical city of Halifax. Good pet friendly hotel, has dog greeter at desk. Most of the staff were very helpful. Great view of the lake. Have stayed there on other occasions. One fault I love waffles and they have no waffle maker in breakfast room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Wally S and I am waffly sorry that we didn't have your favorite breakfast treat. We will see what we can do about this in the future. Thanks for sharing :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 250 St Margarets Bay Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing