We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
“Best Western Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the great location, friendly staff and overall atmosphere of this hotel. Its not beside a busy highway so its quiet and suburban feeling. Our only complaint was with the in-room coffee, Seattle's Best, which is not great at all. The Development of Quiet Floors in all hotels is a wish for us as travelers with no children and looking for peace and quiet in the evening and early morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Lynn L,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We also love that we are in a quiet location in the heart of the city, it is so nice to relax by the lake after a busy day! Although we do not currently have designated quiet floors, it is something I'll bring to the attention of our management team for us to review.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    440
    111
    37
    25
See reviews for
401
420
44
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Chocolate Lake Best Western is in an ideal location, overlooking the lake. The bar has an outdoor area near the water, and the restaurant selection and prices are reasonable. The food is excellent. We asked for a possible upgrade on arrival, and this was provided with little extra cost. Rooms were clean and spacious.The facilities were superb - there is a guest laundry downstairs, and the staff were very friendly. Gave us maps, info re eateries, sights, nearest banks etc.
We all loved the chocolate lab mascot.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindyAussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi LindyAussie_10,

Thank you for such a positive review! I am glad we were able to make your stay so great. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I booked with the intent to bring our pet, but changed my
mind before the trip. Upon arrival we were put on the pet
wing, which I figured would be okay. The room of course
was beautiful and roomy, but was located in the motel
portion of the hotel, right by the outside doors. Needless
to say we spent the night listening to the steady bang
of the doors, with very little sleep. I mentioned this to
the desk in the morning and they put us in the hotel
section for our second night. The attendant even moved
our things for us and put our refreshments in the
refridgerator. I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast,
I hope it was only this weekend in particular, but there
was much less available for choosing, no potatoes,
which are my favorite!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Cindy N,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you found the exterior doors noisy where you were located and I'm glad we were able to accomodate you elsewhere the next night. If you stay with us again and do not bring a pet we would be happy to book you into a different section. If you do bring your furry best friend you can request a room at the end of the hall away from the exterior doors.

We hope you will come back to see us (and Cocoa!) again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great hotel. Great Value. I accidentally booked a day later than I wanted and I had no problem not only getting a room for the same price but had no difficulty with and early check in. Breakfast was good. Yummy apple strudel. Also had the beer battered fish for supper via room service and was very happy with that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MelissaS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi MelissaS1969,

I'm glad we were able to accomodate you on a different date and pleased you enjoyed our restaurant. Thanks for the great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, the food is good and the view is fantastic. If you plan your day to miss the morning rush hour you have no problem getting around Halifax.
We think that one of the best parts of the hotel is "Cocoa", the hotel's chocolate Lab. She owns the place!
We will continue to use this hotel for all our trips to Halifax.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Canucks_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Canucks_47,

I am happy to hear you once again enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and see us (and Cocoa!) again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was our anniversary and we were going to see Reba in concert!!!!
We decided to use this hotel because they didn't charge for parking and had a free breakfast.Also, got a good price for a room and free wifi!!!!
It was also a short drive from the metro centre.
The rooms are clean and a good size.
The breakfast was ok, I would have like to see bacon instead of ham slices and miss the
hash browns they used to have?!?!?!?
We will use this hotel, again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Queen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello 5Queen5 and Happy Anniversary. Reba was awesome! Thanks for sharing and we look forward to having you celebrate your next anniversary with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here, its pretty much a standard chain hotel.
The room was clean.
We stayed in to eat in the eveing due to not wanting to drive the food okay with slow service.
Breakfast gets a bit busy and you had to wait for seating.
The only negative was the walls are a bit thin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy201071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hello andy201071 and glad we didn't disappoint. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 250 St Margarets Bay Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing