We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great Staff especially Jennifer who was the "Face" of the hotel always friendly and helpful, very quiet comfortable room overlooking the Chocolate Lake with views to the city. Restaurant has reasonable dinner menu but be early for breakfast to avoid the queue. Good bus service to downtown from outside the hotel if you dont want to drive

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet but try and get a room away from the ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsydney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Johnsydney11, and thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your suggestion for getting to breakfast as early as possible. Our complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served from 6:30am to 10am every day. During the busy season it gets quite busy around 8:30 and 9am so the earlier you go, the better!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    466
    116
    38
    26
See reviews for
420
444
44
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Largo, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was good value for money, the room was large and comfortable, with lovely views across the Lake. The breakfast was well presented and had most items for a good meal and the dinning room looked on to the lake with a outside patio for taking meals. The only downside was the air con, I was position below our window and was very load during the night.

Room Tip: We thought the rooms on the wing would, be quieter than the main building and you would still get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good Day CyKing and thank you for sharing your comments with us. We trust that you enjoyed your time in Nova Scotia, and we hope you plan to return again one day. We have to agree with you that our lakeside setting is certainly enjoyable during breakfast, lunch and dinner!
I have asked our maintenance department to take a look at the AC unit below your room to ensure it is running properly and as quietly as possible. We are terribly sorry that this was a bother during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great rooms, very clean and spacious, nice view of lake.Front desk service was good and continental breakfast was great with lots of selection. Hotel is central and would certainly go back there. Nice dog.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Once again, my husband and I were travelling on our Harley....we booked Chocolate Lake in Nova Scotia based on pictures of the lake & property...it did not disappoint. The room was spacious, the bed /linens very comfortable, the people friendly. Added bonus (and one of the reasons I booked) is on -site laundry -always helpful when travelling on a bike.Also, there are a few under cover parking spots near the front door specifically for bikes.....:). There is also a bar /restaurant on site where included brkfasts are served. The outside patio is spacious as well. There is a pool /whirpool on site....both are average size but quite adequate. The hotel is located in a business /residential area so not a lot if you are looking to shop. However, the locals in the area are very friendly...:). All in all, I highly recommend.

Room Tip: TIP : well worth the extra money to book a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Exellent hotel!!! Very reasonably priced. Very convenient location. Guest isThe Guest. Exellent, very helpful and responsive reception. Exellent full breakfast.Definatelly a 5 star. Will recommend this hotelas the best hotelin the area. You will have an exellent experiense, should you decide to stay there.

Room Tip: Any room is a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading reviews of other travellers. We booked the hotel for four nights. We were not disappointed for the first two nights. The room was clean, temperature control was excellent, two queen beds were comfortable and buffet breakfast was quite okay.

However, on the third day, the room was not cleaned properly. When I asked to warm up some food in a microwave, one of the staff was not very cooperative. I had to complain to the front desk.

Though this is an excellent hotel with many good staff, my experience was somewhat mixed due to the above.

Room Tip: Centrally located with a beautiful view of chocolate lake from many rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NANAIMO
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I were in Nova Scotia for a week in August. We stayed with family for most of the nights but booked one special night at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. I mentioned in the booking that it was a special night and that we'd like a view of the lake. I had read in previous reviews that the lake side was better. Erika at the front desk welcomed us and even remembered that it was our anniversary. She had saved us the only queen room with a lake view for us - how sweet. We had room service with the restaurant (see my separate review) and enjoyed a beautiful evening in. The included breakfast was super - we ate on the patio with a view of the lake. It was quite and comfortable. The beds and linen were amazing. A maintenance person doing painting was a bit noisy about 9 the next morning, but all in all it was great. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstThingsFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing