We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just P-E-R-F-E-C-T”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 18, 2008

You can't go wrong with this hotel. Everything was just perfect: staff, hotel design, lake view room. I have travelled a lot, but this hotel is really outstanding..

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alerdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2008

Having a dog on site, makes this hotel stand out above the rest for me. I spend from the end of Jan to the end of May on the road, with little time spent at home. Cocoa the live in hotel dog, is a breath of fresh air - making the hotel more homey. Also the smell of chocolate in the entryway, which I thought was my imagination, is genius.

The rooms are nice and there is a ton of delivery restaurants - I did order room service the first night but it wasn't quite what I had in mind (do not order the calamari) and I end up going to Subway, which is the next building over.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jeszabelle314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

This hotel is great! The beds were very comfortable and everything was spotless. Our room was even tidied and vacuumed when the beds were made, etc. Everything was new and clean. We were on the 8th floor so the room had a lovely view. We were sad that we didn't bring our skates to skate on Chocolate Lake.

The pool was under construction but we didn't care too much as it's still winter.

Amenities are good. There is even a laundry room on-site for longer stays.

The hotel is only a $10 cab ride from downtown, so if you want to go out and party, you don't have to drive home.

There is also a small restaurant across the street that had good breakfasts and a Subway and convenience store right beside the hotel.

The rate we paid was very reasonable, and definitely worth it. I would stay here again if ever go back to Halifax.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vividexpression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

This property just opened last week, (mid-Oct) and, while they're still finishing a few cosmetic details, it is an excellent hotel. I'm staying for over a week and no complains at all. The rooms are awesome; a "cut-above" the typical room you'd expect in a similar type of hotel. There's both free WiFi & wired net in the rooms, and my only problem was that I lost internet for one night while the IT guy worked on the problem & fixed it. The staff are great, super helpful etc. There's a restaurant, but it hasn't quite opened yet.
The location is pretty good too - 10min from downtown Halifax, on the main bus lines and right on this beautiful wooded Lake.
They have an in-house dog named cocoa who's very friendly too!
Overall, a good experience and once it's full done in a couple of weeks it'll be a good alternative to the more expensive downtown hotels.

J. Little

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank JamesRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dorothea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kuhe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
1,073 reviews
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $91 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing