We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great service. Love the dog!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay, great service. Love the dog!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent one night here. Room was spotless, we had a beautiful view overlooking the lake, bed was a very comfortable king. The restaurant was ok, we had breakfast which was not bad, and dinner which was ok. Excellent value. Very, very friendly staff!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor facing the lake, it was a stunning view and a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    468
    116
    38
    26
See reviews for
422
445
45
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has not lost any of its excellence. I tried the pool and it was beautiful; very clean as was the whirlpool. The room was perfect. The only down side was the breakfast. It was free and I guess you get what you pay for. It was very poor. Poor selection and the quality was not up to much of a standard. They used to have such a lovely a la carte restaurant there. Sadly, now it's gone. There are other restaurants just a few minutes from there that one can go out to for breakfast if need be. Still a nice place to stay though.

Room Tip: Upper floors with view of Lake and city are good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefeaterguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Worse place I have ever stayed ,filthy cant believe any body would stay here and like it .rooms are dirty located on a real crappy part of the city ,traffic noise is some of the worse I have ever seen staff are not very helpfull .do not waste your money on this carp hole there are much nicer places in the city to stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed just one night prior to a business meeting. This was our second stay at this hotel and I would rate everything the same for each stay. Time did not allow us to use the fitness center or pool. We did have dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and dinner was terrific with great service and food. Breakfast was included in the room cost and was good. Fair selection and good food. The room was very clean and fresh with a lovely view overlooking the lake (room 810). If you are coming to the city to shop, the Halifax Shopping Center is just two minutes away. We will return to this hotel and would not hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriK555428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent location near the heart of Halifax yet away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. Guests will be met by friendly staff, especially one that has big brown eyes and wags her tail....Cocoa, the Chocolate Lab who is the hotel's mascot of sorts. With breakfast included in the room price, it is a great deal and the food is hot, fresh, and the restaurant staff are obliging to help with any of your needs. The location is great for shopping (Bayer's Lake, Halifax Shopping Centre, etc.), tourists (near only access road to Peggy's Cove) and entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed in 6 different Halifax area hotels in recent years and I've finally found the one I LOVE! First of all: convenient location (if you dare to attempt the rotary)! The staff are fantastic...from check-in to room-service to the breakfast...they are consistently the friendliest people I've ever dealt with in a hotel (lobby dog was pretty laid back too). We had the pool and hottub to ourselves and the entire area was very very clean. Our hotel room was a bit small, as other reviewers noted; however, it had absolutely everything we needed in that space, with plenty of room to move around. The bathroom was clean, and deep tub an added bonus. Room service was a little on the pricey side for what they serve but I'ld still rate the food a 4 out of 5. We headed down to breakfast around 9, and the hot items were scant, but the selection was great overall, and the girls were friendly (they also come around to top up your coffee). We ate breakfast overlooking the lake which was a great way to start the day. The only thing that was really 'off' about the entire stay was one well-worn towel in the bathroom...not a huge deal for us. The bath & body works shampoo/conditioner made up for it! This is the first time I've checked out of a Halifax area hotel feeling like I definitely wanted to go back again!

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the street. Road noise was very loud in the early eve...but quiet overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here on an overnight in Halifax. The hotel is very nice and the staff is great, polite, and helpful.
The rooms and very bright and clean, we had a lake view room and the view was very pretty even with the lake frozen over :) The bathroom is very clean and the tub very deep, nice for a relaxing soak after a long day of shopping in the city!
The restaurant is wonderful, the food delicious and Rob was a great host. he engaged with us and our children every time he came to the table, it was a pleasure to eat there. The breakfast buffet was also good, it had everything we wanted for that morning.
My husband and oldest daughter did go swimming and they found the pool on the cold side, but that was the only complaint we had.
I would recommend staying here

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing