We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Bright hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, Bright hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here on an overnight in Halifax. The hotel is very nice and the staff is great, polite, and helpful.
The rooms and very bright and clean, we had a lake view room and the view was very pretty even with the lake frozen over :) The bathroom is very clean and the tub very deep, nice for a relaxing soak after a long day of shopping in the city!
The restaurant is wonderful, the food delicious and Rob was a great host. he engaged with us and our children every time he came to the table, it was a pleasure to eat there. The breakfast buffet was also good, it had everything we wanted for that morning.
My husband and oldest daughter did go swimming and they found the pool on the cold side, but that was the only complaint we had.
I would recommend staying here

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    450
    114
    37
    25
See reviews for
407
430
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In Halifax to visit and decided to give this place a try. I like having pets so was nice to be greeted by a dog. Wedding reception going on but my room was far removed from the noise. Didn't use any of the facilities as I had to be on the road early. Would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agforguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would stay here again given the opportunity
That's all I have to say. Don't push your luck trying to get more compliments out of me. I don't appreciate being forced to write 200 characters. Pissed off now!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We're actually from Ottawa, Ontario and went out to Halifax for a week long.

The Best Western Chocolate Lake was great. Friendly staff, greeter dog Cocoa, helpful service, gorgeous scenery.
Sits right on Chocolate Lake and since it's a pet friendly hotel, your pets can go swimming.
The only thing negative I would say is that it's about a 5 minute drive from the Harbor so we had to drive down and pay to park everyday we wanted to walk around. However, there is a price difference between the hotels there and the Best Western so it made up for it.
Also, the free breakfast buffet was pretty good, decent selection but never any bacon.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Any Room with the view of the lake is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We love the rooms and the view of the lake. The people are always wonderful and make us feel at home. The hot tub, pool and excercise room are great for us. The breakfast is always good and so convenient. Thanks Best Western!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful location by the lake, the hotel enjoys this kind of reputation amongst business travellers. The lake, decent room, clean and well maintained; pleasant and attentive staff, and that cute brown dog that practically lives in the lobby all make up for an enjoyable stay. Lakeside grill offers good dining choices. Ask for the rooms overlooking the lake, preferably in the 2nd level - and park your car by the hotel side. Ample parking also available at the back. Wifi is consistent, breakfast is better than other same hotel types.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When you arrive at the Chocolate Lake Best Western, you're not only greeted by friendly and efficient front desk staff, but also the delicious fragrance of....chocolate...of course! Nice touch. As is the dog, Cocoa! Even our girls (who are normally fearful of large dogs) couldn't be afraid of this dog! Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The only downside to our rooms were that they were right next to the stairway at the end of the hall, and when the door closes to the stairway it sounded like someone was coming into our room, since it was quite loud. We had breakfast in the restaurant - depending on what time you arrived, there could be quite a lineup - we went at 8:00 on Saturday morning, and had no trouble at all, but a little later there were a lot of people! The breakfast attendants were great, and the meal was very good - quite a lot of choice - french toast, hasbrowns, ham, scrambled eggs, toast, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc.

The pool and hottub were very nice as well. We enjoyed our brief stay there, and found it to be very good quality for the price. One of our rooms overlooked Chocolate Lake, which was a lovely view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing