We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Getaway out East”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We're actually from Ottawa, Ontario and went out to Halifax for a week long.

The Best Western Chocolate Lake was great. Friendly staff, greeter dog Cocoa, helpful service, gorgeous scenery.
Sits right on Chocolate Lake and since it's a pet friendly hotel, your pets can go swimming.
The only thing negative I would say is that it's about a 5 minute drive from the Harbor so we had to drive down and pay to park everyday we wanted to walk around. However, there is a price difference between the hotels there and the Best Western so it made up for it.
Also, the free breakfast buffet was pretty good, decent selection but never any bacon.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Any Room with the view of the lake is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

We love the rooms and the view of the lake. The people are always wonderful and make us feel at home. The hot tub, pool and excercise room are great for us. The breakfast is always good and so convenient. Thanks Best Western!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful location by the lake, the hotel enjoys this kind of reputation amongst business travellers. The lake, decent room, clean and well maintained; pleasant and attentive staff, and that cute brown dog that practically lives in the lobby all make up for an enjoyable stay. Lakeside grill offers good dining choices. Ask for the rooms overlooking the lake, preferably in the 2nd level - and park your car by the hotel side. Ample parking also available at the back. Wifi is consistent, breakfast is better than other same hotel types.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When you arrive at the Chocolate Lake Best Western, you're not only greeted by friendly and efficient front desk staff, but also the delicious fragrance of....chocolate...of course! Nice touch. As is the dog, Cocoa! Even our girls (who are normally fearful of large dogs) couldn't be afraid of this dog! Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The only downside to our rooms were that they were right next to the stairway at the end of the hall, and when the door closes to the stairway it sounded like someone was coming into our room, since it was quite loud. We had breakfast in the restaurant - depending on what time you arrived, there could be quite a lineup - we went at 8:00 on Saturday morning, and had no trouble at all, but a little later there were a lot of people! The breakfast attendants were great, and the meal was very good - quite a lot of choice - french toast, hasbrowns, ham, scrambled eggs, toast, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc.

The pool and hottub were very nice as well. We enjoyed our brief stay there, and found it to be very good quality for the price. One of our rooms overlooked Chocolate Lake, which was a lovely view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband & I recently spent the evening at this hotel, very friendly staff, clean room comfortable beds, decent hot breakfast included. Dined out in the hotel restaurant in the evening the meal was wonderful, my husband said the best pork chop he's had in a long time. I tried a choc/strawberry martini it was also yummy. We are already talking about going back again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjspetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Friendly staff, big, bright room with fridge and microwave, generally good location, although a bit cut off from downtown, great morning breakfast, although the lines can be a bit long, but was also quite noisy with a kids' hockey tournament in town...the walls and doors seem to be paper thin, sadly. Even if your room doesn't face the lake, you still have scenery to see.

Room Tip: Facing the lake is ideal, but facing the front is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todowntowner04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The nicest part of our stay was being able to take Cocoa, the resident dog, for a walk in the morning and to be greeted each time we came and went with a wagging tail, how civilized is that! Also had a great view of the lake from our room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MarilynP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
257 reviews
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: $95 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing