We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a gem of a place!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are having great luck with our selection of places and I first have to thank CAA and tripadvisor. We have been on the road for almost 2 weeks staying at 7 different places so far. I used the CAA website, their hotel rating system and information to pick our accomodaitons. I then would read the tripadvisor reviews and make a decision. Anyway, this Best Western location must be the darling of their dwellings, at least for Eastern Canada. First, the rooms were spacious, nicely decorated, and very clean,.They have a great workout room and pool. But for me, the most memorable part of our stay was their restaurant veranda overlooking Chocolate Lake. We sat out there for all of our meals. Also, I love swimming in lakes and Chocolate lake appears to be a lake for only swimmers and non-motorized crafts. There were so many people out swimming and I too went every day. The water was very warm and it was easy to cross the lake and back. The food was fine and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeerParkMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    456
    115
    37
    26
See reviews for
414
437
44
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We attended the wedding of some good friend's last week and stayed at this hotel...the wedding and the reception were also here...what a treat!!! The rooms were modern, clean and well looked after and the front desk and other staff were very friendly and helpful. We were part of a large group with the wedding who stayed at the hotel...I never heard a single complaint from anyone. And the meal at the reception was excellent. The complimentary breakfast was a little average, but the buffet table did have a little something for everyone...switching up the hot items every couple of days might help...but other than that, I'd gladly stay here again...and next time I will bring a bathing suit to have a swim in "Chocolate Lake"...cause everyone else who did seemed to really enjoy it!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at the Chocolate Lake hotel for just one night on a weekend trip, and was happy with the experience. Staff was pleasant at check-in, room was very nice and clean, and the location, although not right in the city, was nice as it was close but in a quiet area. I believe the only bad thing I could say is the thermostat in our room seemed kinda wonky as it had to be adjusted very often to be comfortable and to get heat to come on, but other than that no complaints.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frost333sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We wanted to stay in downtown Halifax but did not want to pay the waterfront prices. We ended up at the Cholcolate Lake Best Western. The rooms were clean, quiet (except for the typical heating, air conditioner fan). The restaurant was clean and the food was OK. There was ample parking and the lake behind was a pleasant surprise with young people playing out in the water.

Room Tip: Not downtown Halifax and will require driving on some busy streets. Is located outside of town and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East River, ns
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel renovations are fine but it has a confusing layout now. Parking is limited and difficult. I was there on business and not by choice. Not sure if it's where I'd choose to stay. The lake is beautiful though. I was concerned that there were no screens on the windows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This Hotel was completely renovated a few years ago. It sits approx. 10 minutes from downtown Halifax on the St Margarets Bay Rd. The staff throughout the hotal was excellent: from the desk to the room service to the restaurant service, everything was impeccable!
The back of the property is on a small lake with no motorized boats allowed: as a guest, you have access to the lake but there is also a gym on the premises. The hotel is very clean ( room 422 ) and modern with access to computers in the lobby. The restaurant features a patio overlooking the lake and the ambiance was superb; the food was very good and the service was excellent.
The morning breakfast , included in the room price, consists of eggs, ham, bacon, juices, etc.
All in all, this is an excellent Best Western hotel with so many amenities as to make others envious!
By the way, this is a pet friendly hotel and Cocoa, the chocolate lab hotel resident, will ensure a warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrider53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We paid for $101 for the room, but when we walked in, we just do not like it, firstly, it is outside of the facility atteched but not connected. We had two kids , one is baby, we don't feel like safety, also the room is small and the carpet is dirty, furniture is very old, so we want to change it. When we walked to front desk to ask for room changed, the lady whose name is Erin, have very bad attitude to us. She said all the rooms are booked, but we just checked in, and the other lady just asked if we want single bed or two beds room.And we can see there are lots of rooms lights are off parking lot half empty, we are pretty sure there is still a room available. She said we booked through priceline, we could not cancelled. we asked if we can upgrade the room ,we would like to pay more, she said we booked through priceline, there is nothing she can do if we pay though priceline. what the matter with the priceline? We feel like we are 2nd class citizen. We can't get refund, can't do anything, we have no choice. We asked what she can do could make us more satisfied, she said nothing can do. and the whole conversation, she did not even try, i am almost crying, but she just give us a ugly face and never even say something to us, even a sorry. When we asked if we could talk to the manager, she said she is today's. How can this kind of person be a manager? we travelled three times every year, we have been never exprienced like this, we really felt mistreated and never felt so upset. I can say the customer service is awaful, does not deserve three starts, also the room. I will let all my friends know this and never go with this hotal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I would like to start by offering my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. It is never our intent to treat anyone differently based on their choice of booking sites.
When you chose to book through Priceline, you accepted their terms and conditions which offered you a “run of the house” room. This term means that you may end up with a room with one queen bed, a Honeymoon suite, an inside guest room, or a drive up unit, whatever is available at time of check in. In my opinion, most guests who agree to these terms take their chances for the perceived dollar savings. Had you booked through www.bestwestern.com you would have been guaranteed that your preferred room type was available upon check-in, and you would have been guaranteed the lowest price available. It is a common belief that sites such as Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity offer lower rates. That is just not true. We always guarantee the lowest rate is available on our own website, and your room type is always guaranteed at check -in.
When it became clear to our Agent that you did not want to stay in the only room that was available, she then attempted to explain that we were unable to cancel your room because you had booked through Priceline. In our opinion you made a very strong and animated argument, however, her words were the truth and your request was beyond our control.
Our hotel was completely renovated in three stages five years ago. The room you were in is only three years old. The furniture was purchased for this room, new. Our carpets are well maintained and cleaned regularly.
In closing, I know that our Manager on Duty is a very conscientious hospitality professional who is absolutely distraught that you feel she failed to act in a professional and kind manner.
I assuure you, sincerely, her actions on that day were well intentioned and never meant to cause you anguish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing