We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall we would definitely stay here again!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overall we would definitely stay here again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be nice. We were in the tower which was renovated and somewhat clean. We had a lovely view of Chocolate Lake. There were two queen beds and the room was average in size. My biggest complaint was the size of the bathroom. It was extremely small. We didn't use the pool but it looked like a nice size compared to newer hotel pools.
The free breakfast was good. It was a hot breakfast which on our 3 mornings included scrambled eggs, ham and or sausage and fried pototoes. We never had a problem getting a table as we were usually there early and did see a few line ups of people waiting later in the morning.
The location is great as you are just a short drive to the downtown. We often returned to the hotel late at night and it was difficult to find a parking spot. Our room was extremely quiet and the beds were comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    438
    111
    36
    25
See reviews for
398
420
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days in august 2012. Our dog was received like he was a king and the staff was amazing with him (and with us!). Our dog could run outside and play with other dogs and swim in the lake! Coco (the hotel's dog) is very nice and LOVEEES people. You can feed her cookies in the lobby... she was her own cookie jar out there.

The hotel is locates right next to a cute little lake in which you can swim. The water is very good and the environment is extraordinary! It's a little outside downtown Halifax but it's exactly what you need to sleep well! No street noises and stuff like that.. Rooms are very clean and ours had an amazing view on the lake. The pool, spa and the fitness center are never crowded and they also have a huge games room with computers (excellent if you travel with teenagers I guess).

The restaurant is great too! The menu is short (15-20 meals) but the food is delicious! We strongly suggest the Lakeside Burger! It was so good that I almost fell down my chair! Servers are amazing and very very very sweet with their guests. They seem very happy to work there :)

We had a wonderful time! Thanks to everyone out there! We give this hotel 100000000/100!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the lake! Very peaceful place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touri5m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night upon our arrival to Halifax and then again for 4 nights about 10 days later. The two experiences were very different. Our first night was in a very tiny room that could barely accommodate our 2 suitcases (there were 4 of us). I was seriously tempted to change hotels and even went back to reread the tripadvisor reviews because maybe something had changed since I booked the hotel. Most of the reviews were good but there was one that questioned if we were all talking about the same hotel and I too was wondering that. I decided to keep our reservation and I'm glad I did. The room we got this time was spacious and faced the lake. The staff were friendly and helpful. One day housekeeping only left 2 bath towels so I called down to ask for 2 more and they arrived minutes later. We ate dinner at the onsite restaurant 3 times and it was very good. We used the pool and coin laundry and both were great. The only downside is the chaos at breakfast. The restaurant isn't set up to handle this kind of buffet breakfast so lineups are long and you are quite often having to wait while they replenish the cutlery, hot water and milk. The food itself is good. If you are staying here request a room in the tower asI believe they are more spacious. I should also mention the location is great, only minutes from the downtown and right by the highway that goes to Peggy's Cove.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shoegirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for a family vacation on the recommendation of a friend who travels often to Halifax and we were not disappointed. There are two parts to this hotel - a tower and a lower-motel-like portion. While at first glance you might opt for the tower I recommend you request the motel-portion which faces the lake....these rooms are large, roomy and perfectly located to just walk right over to the picnic tables and fire pit in front of the lake - plus you can park your vehicle right in front of your room which is super convenient.

The lobby area of the hotel is large and welcoming, the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and the restaurant is elegant but not stuffy - very nice for families but a cut above the average. The included breakfast was delicious and plentiful, with lots of fresh fruits, juices, and healthy choices apart from the standard buffet breakfast fare.

Best of all was the location, not too far from the downtown but convenient to all the touristy things you might want to visit. And you get Best Western Rewards points for staying there. We will certainly choose this hotel again if staying in Halifax in the future.

Room Tip: ask for the Lake View rooms in the motel portion of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sistersofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a refreshing change from the previous hotel we stopped at in Fredericton that had seen better days. The dogs were welcome and the setting fantastic! We sat on the deck overlooking the lake and it was a tonic as we were getting pretty tired, this was day 6 of our road trip from Houston, TX to St John's NL.

Good food and excellant staff and service. Highly Recommend a stay here

Room Tip: Book Early as the good rooms are gone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here recently when on vacation to the Maritimes. It is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and updated. Breakfast is good with hot/cold varieties. Our only negative, is the location of our room and how difficult it was to get our luggage to the room. We had loaded up our luggage on the luggage cart, took the elevator to the 3rd floor, exited the elevator and were heading to our room, only to encounter a small set of stairs that we were not able to get the luggage cart over, so we had to take all of our luggage off the cart and make a couple of trips back and forth to our room. It is a poor layout in that respect, the maids must also have fun getting their cleaning carts down the hall there as well. Other than that, it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadathebeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was professional and well ran. Rooms were very nice and clean. The friendliest staff I have ever met who just love to chat. Well worth the stay.

Breakfast was hot and first rate. This place is just outside the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 250 St Margarets Bay Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing